Need urgent help on overhaul upgrade

Status
Not open for further replies.

Skutty

After months of saving I am going for a low budget upgrade for a terribly old computer, which is currently as follows:

666Mhz Pentium 3
768MB SDRAM
20GB HDD
32MB nVidia TNT2

I have found the following products and prices on www.jantechcomputers.com.au (Yes the site is Australian because I am Australian) and what I need to know is confirmation that these products will work together and if these are good prices:

ABIT SG-80 Motherboard SIS661FX - For $84.50
Jantech Computers page
Abit.com.au page

Intel Celeron D 331 2.66 GHz LGA775 - For $123.10
Jantech Computers page

I am not a total newbie with hardware, I just haven't had much experiance with Motherboards and Processors.
Remember these are AUSTRALIAN prices, sorry I couldn't convert them to US, and I do have a max budget of $200.
Also on top of that, this Motherboard will be compatible with a GeForce FX 5200 128MB AGP 8x won't it?

Thank you very very much whoever replies! The sooner I can resolve this and make the purchase the better! Thanks again.

Yes that equipment is compatible. However I cannot tell from the link if that CPU is retail or OEM, if its OEM then you'll need to get a heatsink and thermal grease too.

Also note that your older systems power supply may not be up to snuff. Check that it has the proper P4 connectors and power output requirements

As for the prices, i'm not sure, check PriceWatch. (prices listed are USD)

What's OEM stand for? The site does say it comes in a box, so I'm guessing it's retail.
Yeah I was thinking I might need to upgrade my power supply.

OEM stands for Original Equipment by Manufactuer. In other words, the manufactuer only recommends the use of this item and sells it. It is not an aftermarket item.

Ok, I have a REALLY important question:

Does it matter if I put a microATX board into a standard case? Will it still fit and work properly??

I really need an answer, thanks.