Networked drive

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all, I am quite new to all this so please be gentle with me! recently given a laptop which was networked in an office. Nice little machine but....... the operating system has been taken off!! Have tried to reload, have tried to format, tried the fdisk thingy but to no avail, PLEASE can anybody help me - Thank you in advance

What sort of a laptop? What exactly do you want to do? What have you exactly tried to do? How exactly does it fail?

Nodsu said:
What sort of a laptop? What exactly do you want to do? What have you exactly tried to do? How exactly does it fail?

Thank you for replying. the following is what happens, after turning on it does a couple of beepy sounds, then goes to a screen that says TravelMate, the screen then goes blank for a second or two then "operating system not found" appears in the top lefthand corner.

Somebody suggested reformatting the hard drive with a win98 starup disk so I tried that but that didn't work although I couldn't the format command on the startup disk so after searching through my disks I found a universal boot disk for a gateway computer. The laptop did read this disk and I got into the Dos directory on the disk, tried then to format C drive but am told CANNOT FORMAT A NETWORK DRIVE

realblackstuff said:
try to do a sys c: from that floppy.
Or format the HD while you are still on the floppy, using format c: /s/u

Thank you for replying tried both sys c: says CANNOT SYS A NETWORK DRIVE
format c:/s/u says CANNOT FORMAT A NETWORK DRIVE

Do you happen to have a CD-ROM drive in that laptop? You would be better off booting from a Windows CD.

You need to mess with fdisk and format only if you are planning on running Windows 98 on the computer.

Nodsu said:
Do you happen to have a CD-ROM drive in that laptop? You would be better off booting from a Windows CD.

You need to mess with fdisk and format only if you are planning on running Windows 98 on the computer.