Networking Nightmare, help

Status
Not open for further replies.

PresChik7

I am pulling my hair out. I am not a novice (or expert!!) computer user but have always been able to learn what I needed to know....having said that i am stuck. I am trying to re-set up a home network and nothing seems to work.

Setup:
I have two desktops and a laptop. Desktop1 and laptop are XP and desktop2 is Vista. I recently changed desktop1 from Vista to XP, added desktop2 and reinstalled XP on laptop....needless to say i scratched the previous network I had.

I have run the wizard at least a dozen times to no avail. One time I ran it and instead of using a flash drive I installed my XP disc into the other two computers and I managed to get desktop2 and the laptop to see all three but wouldn't necessarily connect to the laptop and neither could connect to desktop1 even though it could see it. i have never gotten desktop1 to see either of the other two.

After getting desktop2 and laptop to see and connect to each other, that is now gone. No idea why, no changes, just turned them off and back on and poof.

Read a lot but no help. None are password protected, all have file sharing enabled, all have same network name and password .....I am at a loss here.

Here are my network specs: Running Verizon DSL with Versalink router connected via ethernet to desktop1, laptop and desktop2 are wireless. All can connect to internet fine, just not each other.

I hope I have been clear with description, etc. I hopefully have not confused anyone to the point they cannot help!! i am sure this is something simple I am overlooking but ANY help will be greatly appreciated.

Oh, afterthought...I tried to ping two of the computers....desktop1 can ping the laptop with no packets lost but then the laptop could not ping the desktop. It said it timed out. The third computer isn't on so I didn't try it. I can if it will help with troubleshooting.

Thanks,
PresChik7