TechSpot

New but willing to learn

By emmaj23
Jun 4, 2005
  1. Hello!
    I'm new to the computing world and quite unexperienced.
    I have what seems to me a big problem with my computer and hope that some of you more experienced people might be able to help me!
    I have what seems to be a virus on my PC but when i do an online scan, no viruses are identified. However when i run different programs, abou twenty or so windows open up (with the name c:/windows/system32/cmd.exe) and sometimes a message in spanish pops up threatening to turn of my PC, which it eventually does. I've tried running spybot and hyjackthis but each time i try, this "virus" shows up again!
    Ad-aware detects 6 new objects (c:/windows/system32/cmd.exe) but the scan never ends and so i can't delete them!
    What to do?
    I would really appreciate all suggestions!
    Thank you

2. Bobcat1132

Bobcat1132 TS Rookie Posts: 79

what virus protection are you using

3. emmaj23

emmaj23 TS Rookie Topic Starter

I'm using Norton anti-virus. But since i've had this virus, i can no longer open norton.
    Other than that I have ad-aware and sygate firewall. I'd really appreciate any of your suggestions!

4. Bobcat1132

ditch norton and if you can download avg from the internet as it is free and one of the best anti virus programs out there right now

5. emmaj23

i have also used an online anti virus : secuser

6. Bobcat1132

you can always try to save your files you want to keep and reformat the hdd

7. emmaj23

i have absolutely no idea of what you are talking about! the hdd? how do i do this?

8. emmaj23

i tried avg but the problem is that i cant download anything. Each time i try, these windows keep popping up again (c:/windows/system32/cmd.exe) Do you konw what this means?

9. Bobcat1132