New comp build...having problems plz help

Status
Not open for further replies.

jb444

Hi, as im new please dont shoot me if this is the wrong section...
I have just put together the following:
X2 4200, Gigabyte GA-M55Plus-S3G, 1gb ddr2-800 etc...Im 99% sure hardware is all compatible.
When I boot the system With just the windows disk I get message "Disk boot failure insert system disk and reboot", So i put in a boot disk and loaded it, getting message "Disk I/O error. Please replace disk" Boot disk is brand new and ive tried 2 windows disks.
So I booted with just the floppy in and it said:
"The following file is missing or corrupt: Display.SYS"
"There is an error in your config.Sys Line 1"
(I'm fairly new to computers so I have no idea what that means)
I then took out my old HDD with windows installed on and booted the system. After the Verifying DMI pool etc. screen the computer just restarts, try in safe mode and it just restarts.
I would be extremely grateful for any advice on the problem.

Ok...apologies it was the startup disk...i made another one and It came up with Widows copyright etc... Then
A:\>
Last time I made a computer I just shoved windows in and let it do the rest...and my knowledge of DOS is pretty much 0.
Could anyone tell me the commands i need to type to start the windows installation? (I assume its easier to format and partition the hard drive from the windows installer)
Thanks
Chris

ok.. are we talking about windows xp here or previous?

if so (xp) is this a previous windows installation that you've transfered from a old pc to a new one? you may need to perform a windows repair (since motherboard drivers maybe different)

Windows xp...but i dont really want my old hdd in there i just wondered if it would work... what I really need to know is how to install windows xp from cd using the a:\> prompt in dos.
None of the commands like fdisk or run work, just says bad command