New Homemade Clone-Possessed Symptomotology

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello, and thanks to anyone who can help

I am a former mechanic and aircraft electrician, regardless no expert in PCs. I know about proper RAM, Card seating, wiring correctly, antistatic, driver installing and updating.

I am none-too-clear about firmware upgrades, CMOS clearing, and so I havent done or tried any of that. Seems (For starters) I need a Floppy to do firmware or CMOS clearing or upgrading?

The system has a new, 350w power supply, clean power from the pole outside and has a quality surge supressor, though I did run the Sharp Aquos screen off the same surge supressor, as well as the logitech z-5300e THX system.

This clone has a lot of symptoms, even though new. I will try to break down the issue into the following parts:

1) What was happening before it acted up: a through h,

2) Bizzare symptoms: a through i,

3) What I tried to do to fix it: a through h,

4) What improved the problem: a and b,

1) What was happening before it acted up a through h:

a) I had installed the CD-ROM version of the X-fi, Soudblaster, sound card drivers.

b) I had just tried a real movie (Bruce Almighty) and downloaded the software to play it, though it didnt work, and when uninstalled, it uninstalled.. a bit too quick to believe unless it was an incredibly small program.

c) Started, then changed mind, about installing the supplied hardware DVD-ROM software, in order to see Bruce Almighty and thus ascertain the video pixel-problem as not related to Music Video files on hand.

d) Played a few music videos tossed through home network into the puter (in other words, no risky access to internet from the problem puter). They played and sounded okay, but there was "pixel flashing" near motion on the screen. As a half hour passed, the pixel flashing turned to corrupt dialog boxes, as it moved from the video to the OS, WinXP desktop.