New laptop??

Status
Not open for further replies.

cookiedude

Hi all

I am looking for a laptop as a second PC, something I can use for work if need be. I am a designer/visualiser so use a lot of 2d and 3d software so will need something capable of handling this. I believe I have narrowed my selection down to 3 possibles:

Sony VAIO FZ - http://www.pcwb.com/catalogue/item/SONB0190
Toshiba Satellite Pro A200 - http://www.pcwb.com/catalogue/item/A0226123
Dell XPS M1330 - http://www1.euro.dell.com/content/products/productdetails.aspx/xpsnb_m1330?c=uk&cs=ukdhs1&l=en&s=dhs

On specification and price I am leaning towards the Toshiba, but I'm not too sure how good their laptops are?? The dell appeals on portability and the Sony on looks and spec, though both are limited by having the 8400M graphics cards which may not be powerful enough. Any thoughts?

My budget is £1000, I don't really want to go over this. If anybody has any other suggestions I would like to hear them.

Thanks in advance.

We work on all three of those in our shop. We strongly recommend you stay away from the Sony VAIO FZ. It will unreliable due to the cooling channel inadequacy.
Toshiba Satellite is decent, but if it fails parts are hard to get, and warranty repairs take a long time. This computer is not in the same category as the Sony or the Dell. Lower quality video and screen. For good Toshiba, get the Tecra.
The Dell XPS M1330 is a much better machine that either of the other two... but has some troubles in the VISTa version. If the graphics card is inadequate, get the better Dell. But I think you will be happy with the 8400M if you are not going to use it for gaming. It is fine for Photoshop.
The IBM Thinkpad T-60 and T-61 have high resolutions with better video graphics... Much more rugged, but the price is higher.

I use 3d studio max quite a lot so if the 8400M can't handle games it probably won't handle 3D visual work too well either.