TechSpot

New Old guy here

By TonyK
Feb 2, 2005
  1. Hello to everyone, my name is Tony, I live near Chicago and I am a semi-techie.

My background is graduate of Control Data Corporation's computer & electronics tech. program, graduated 1986 and was mostly trained on mainframes. For personal reasons, I did not persue computer repair, and instead, worked as a service tech in other fields, as I am still today.

I have experience in web page creation, graphics, animations, and have been online since 1993. I have been on IRC previously, thought others how to use it, but have not been on IRC for many many years. Was one of the first to get ICQ when it first came out, and have since stopped using it after it became more and more complicated to use.

Have been on Yahoo since 1996, have created "clubs", now known as "groups" on Yahoo, and have been on Yahoo messenger since it first came out.

So, my computing experience is broad, but after many years of being online, I got a bit fed up with it all and stayed off. Now, since late 2003, I've been sloly back on line and changed computers. I would like to some day get back to web design, and perhaps once again teach people how to use computers and the internet, but I need some fresh information to get myself up to speed.

So, here I am, on this "Techspot" with a need for a question to be answered (see my post earlier tonight) and hopes of possibly meeting some of you online and acquire some of that needed uptospeed info.

I am sure there might be some information I can share with you as well from my work experience. I have twelve years experience in home appliance repair, and have worked on some home repairs and electrical repairs. Presently, I am working on vending equipment, such as, soda machines, food dispensing machines, snack machines, and large sized coffee machines.