New RAM addition - No Signal problems!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eichenkatze

A few days ago i found some overstocked ram items online and decided to purchase them after a bit of research to find out what my system could take.

DDR SDRAM 184-pin 400/PC3200 Ram cards

Seeing as i currently had 2x512mb DDR SDRAM cards in and two slots open i decided to see if i couldn't pop in a 1gb to upgrade the system memory to 2gb of DDR SDRAM.

Now mind you, i'm fairly new at this so be kind! I've done most everything with computer upgrades but RAM ive saved for last on my list for this very issue!

After reading online a bit, i only got answers for those out there who are using entirely new RAM in entirely new computers. So i'm sure the CPU and motherboard are working because i'm typing this.

From what i can tell the ram types are the same (though they look different. The old cards are slightly taller and one side is void of detail and circuits while the new card is smaller to an extent (though the same length.. thus- 184-pin. but both sides have circuitry parts)

When i put in the Ram and started the machine up, it simply hung there. Power shot through the computer so that all fans and drivers seemed to kick on and the power supply obviously was running. However the monitor gave me the 'No Signal" report. and then proceeded to go into stand-by. I swapped out the memory sticks from tray to tray, removed some and added others but nothing has worked. The only thing i have yet to try is removing the old sticks and putting only the new one in to see if it'll run.

I'm at a complete loss as to why its not working, it would be a bummer to find out i spent 75 on a useless stick!

Note - Out of the four ram slots two are blue and two are black, does this mean anything? I've tried the new card in both the black and blue and niether has allowed the computer to start up.

Any suggestions or answers? I'm at a complete loss :(