Not open for further replies.

eafshar

I am building my first system and this is what i have come up with until now:

Asus P6T Deluxe V2 Socket 1366 Intel X58
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz
OCZ XMP Ready Series 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
Corsair TX Series CMPSU-850TX 850W
BFG GeForce GTX 280 Video Card - OC Edition
Seagate Barracuda (ST31000528AS) 7200.12 SATA 3.0Gb/s 1000GB (1TB) 32MB Cache (OEM

the system above costs 1300.95 CAD before any taxes obv.

I need to decide on a CASE. this is my first build so i don't know what too look for in a case... any suggestions?

Also should i go for an SSD? Intel X-25M sells for 234.99$. is it worth the price? from techspot review on SSDs they seem to perform very well against SATA drives. I'm wondering how noticeable would app load time be. would game load time be cut in half? I'm just not sure about the actual boost they'd give my system.

appreciate all input.

eafshar,
here is some info on SSD load times and other aspects.

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/storage/2007/07/21/samsung_32gb_solid_state_drive/3

as far as a case, beyond finding the aesthetics you want. look for superior airflow. you can research the number of fans and the collective cfm of them. you can also decide if you want a positive or negative pressure system, both have advantages/disadvantages
http://www.silverstonetek.com/tech/wh_positive.php?area=usa.
if sound level is important to you, look at the decibel level of the fans. for a high performance system like yours, you are going to want a lot of room for that airflow and the large GFX card like the GTX 280. i would suggest a large mid tower if not a full tower. if you decide to go with liquid cooling

Get a GTX 275 instead of the GTX 280. They are very close in performance, but the 280 sells for almost $100 more than the 275.