TechSpot

Newbee looks to become PC techie

By leesway
Dec 30, 2008
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hey. I'm Leesway. I'm a leftover from the Jurassic period. You know, dinosaurs? I spent over 20 years on mainframes. I'm an analyst, programmer, no, make that COBOL programmer. But, that was awhile ago. I've reinvented myself as an e-commerce type and sell organic bed, bath, and spa products. I could use this space as a shameless plug of the business, but I won't because I need serious help! I don't program HTML, but I know enough to tweak things pretty well and enough to be dangerous if my ego is really healthy. As I read the threads, I'm overwhelmed by the wealth of knowledge out there. I may not be able to help anyone else, but I'm really good at following directions. If all else fails, you can all just vote me off the island.

2. hellokitty[hk]

hellokitty[hk] Hello, nice to meet you! Posts: 4,368   +125

"COBOL", you mean "Cobalt"?

Is there a point in this thread? Few people would actually read this thread, after all, Newbee looks to become PC techie implies that you may want us to teach you everything we know, that could be problematic.

No, I think you would be banned or "vote you off the island", you could TRY to hax your way in, though i am doubtful.

3. leesway

leesway TS Rookie Topic Starter

Hello HK- COBOL is an actual mainframe computer programming language. I see your point - being a Newbee in the Introductions Forum seems a little redundant. Maybe I should have said Lonely Dino Seeks Computer Help. My elderly brain can hold only so much new data.

4. hellokitty[hk]

hellokitty[hk] Hello, nice to meet you! Posts: 4,368   +125

oh, may bad.

Still, im not sure people would pay attention to "Lonely Dino Seeks Computer Help".

5. kimsland

kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

Thanks for your welcoming words, hellokitty[hk] :suspiciou