Newbie here, need help with Vundo trojan

Status
Not open for further replies.

gobruins

Hi everyone,

I am very thankful that I found a community with such helpful people! A few weeks ago, I noticed lots of popups, misdirections, and just overall slowness on my computer. I had Avira antivirus, Ad-aware and Malwarebytes at the time. I ran scans and each time a Vundo trojan was detected, I deleted it. But it kept coming back. Finally I installed AVG, uninstalled Ad-aware and Malwarebytes, and I thought my system was clean, but I kept getting bad image errors.

I found this site, and decided to follow the 8 steps. Attached are my logs for Malwarebytes, Super Anti-spyware and Hijack this. To my surprise, even though my computer stopped getting the bad image errors and seemed to run fine, the 8 step process yielded over 70 additional Vundo infections.

I hope the 8 step process has cleaned me completely, but I need someone's help. I am not sure how to read these logs to make sure my system is clean. Can someone help me? Thank you all for your help, I really appreciate it!

Welcome to TechSpot and thank you for your patience. I'll help with the malware.

There is a line to check in Malwarebytes (and SAS) to remove the malware that is found. When that line isn't checked, each entry says No action taken.

So I have to send you back to update Malwarebytes and run a scan gain, being sure to check this:
Make sure that everything is checked, and click Remove Selected.

The Vundo that is showing in SAS is all in the System Restore points. They will not infect your system unless you do a system restore- so don't! I'll have you remove all the old restore points when the system is clean and set a new clean one.

Please download ComboFix HERE:
  • With ComboFix, at the download window, please rename it to Combo-Fix(.exe) before downloading it.
  • Please disable all security programs, such as antiviruses, antispywares, and firewalls. Also disable your internet connection.