TechSpot

Newbie who's Started Onw Business!

By almcneil
Jun 23, 2007
  1. Techies,

Hi, my name is Andy and I'm new to this tech support board! I just recently started up my own in-home comptuer services business and could use some advice from others who are experienced in it.

That being the case, I have a business question for you types. I am using a direct to home marketing approach. My initial plan was to deliver 400 flyers a week and the calls would pour in. My thinking was the convenience of having someone come to your place to fix your computer would make people jump! It didn't. I hardly got a call the first week. So I knocked on doors and discovered the reason. Although some were having problems, there computer wasn't completely disabled. Since they weren't dependent on it (it's just a home computer), it wasn't urgent to get it fixed. Also, they wanted to see if they could find someone they knew who's a big computer wiz to come voer and fix it for free. So they didn't call me. But, by knocking on doors, I did convince some to book a service call.

So, any suggestions on how to increase my bookings? I hate going door-to-door but for now, it's the only way.

2. Ididmyc600

Ididmyc600 TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 1,415

Hi Andy and welcome to the TS Forum :wave:

Getting started in any business is hard work, people dont know you dont trust you, they dont like the idea of someone they dont know coming in and (possibly and I dont mean you here) ripping them off for a large cost, and unless its an urgent thing, like you said, most will plod on with a dicky PC.

Most of the bigboys use scare tactics to get people to get the PC in for repair, this includes things like loss of data, hacking attempts etc etc , people get worried and think twice about putting it off.

However people still will put their needs before the repair of a PC, unless its important to them as a lifeline.