No install of Ethernet Controller...??

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a dell that recently died of a rather nasty virus. Threw in a Windows XP recovery disk and reinstalled windows. Windows starts and runs great, but the resolution is so bad that nothing fits on the screen, its all jumbo sized, and I can't get online to get new drivers because its saying my ethernet contoller is not installed. Any ideas? Sorry if this is low tech stuff for you guys, but I am still learning. I think I need a drivers cd to complete installation, alas, I dont have it. Should I be downloading a driver somewhere that I can install off of a USB drive??

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Logan

did you try resetting the Screen Resolution?
control Pannel->(appearance & themes)->Display->settings

yes...

there are a few different like 600 x 800 (ex.), I think there are 7 different sizes. I can set them to the right size, but then all the color on the monitor is exteremely grainy and poor. Blotchy really. Anyway, when I go to look at the setup of the monitor, it wont let me. Almost as if there is no driver or alternate option that I could use. Also, the slider that is in control panel\display\settings wont move to the right at all. And, on some of the other resolutions, it goes to 8-bit.

Thanks for the reply!

:)

Logan

yep, you need the correct driver and DL to a USB Flash would enable you to fetch
on one system and install on another.

So where can I get it??

I found a few on the dell website, hoping those work. Any ideas on the graphics issues?? Is there a driver or something that controls display?? Something I can update?

Thanks for your help!

Logan

you wil need the graphics driver (id your card or onboard chipset)
and you may need the monitor driver.
Ya dell has it all
you may find a better driver lets say you have a nvidia chip
go to there website, ATI chipset and so on
do search like this
dell(what the Motherboard or model is)graphics chipset