No keyboard response in XP login screen

By Boneripper34
Jun 23, 2007
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hi

This is my first time using this forum, and i can only but prey for a quick response!

I rebooted my computer after installing bootvis (as i had problems with slow imapi and other important applications during boot). Suddenly my keyboard stopped working, and as i couldnt get past login screen (password) i had a big problem.
    Tried a USB keyboard, but same problem.
    I can enter bios and all just fine, but when login screen comes no buttons, not even num lock, caps lock or scroll lock responds (no lights).
    Mouse works fine though... :suspiciou

PC specs :
    MSI P965 Platinum socket 775.
    PowerColor Radeon X1950XT 512MB
    2 GB kingston ram DDR2 PC5300
    1x 300 GB sata2 seagate hdd
    1x 200 GB IDE seagate hdd
    420W PSU
    Labtec media keyboard
    Microsoft habu

I thought it might be an Bootvis error (as it was the last thing i installed), but have find no indicators of this. The comp. should be malware and virus free, as i have gone through it often and kept safe.

Any suggestions?:confused:
  2. poertner_1274

poertner_1274 secroF laicepS topShceT Posts: 4,745

3. Boneripper34

Boneripper34 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

Thnxs for the welcome:)

Yes i have tried going into safemode, but with no luck. As it loaded, same problem appeared at login screen.
  4. Boneripper34

I might add that i was stupid enough to think it might be a problem with drivers & such, so i decided to reinstall windows. upon entering the serial code for windows, the keyboard stops working again! and every time i reboot it auto-restarts setup...so im kinda stuck now!
  5. CCT

CCT Newcomer, in training Posts: 3,556

If you boot with the XP cd in the tray are you able to cancel settup and retry to effect a repair install?
  6. Boneripper34