TechSpot

norton 2006

By focus_water
May 16, 2006
  1. i have just got norton and i instaled it and updated everything and it was fine for a while. i turned on my computer and a message came up saying that there was a virus i clicked ok and then like a second later another message came up saying that there was a virus. it just wont go away. i have gone to the source but the file isnt there. everytime i click ok and the messege pops up the and file is always diffrent but same location.
    it says the virus is in C:\windows\TEMP\X.tmp

    im not even sure if that will make sence to you but any way.

    if there is anymore information you need please just tell me what you need to know.
     
  2. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    Go HERE and follow the instructions in the order they are given.

    Post a fresh HJT log as an attachment into this thread, only after doing the above.

    Regards Howard :)
     
  3. focus_water

    focus_water TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 168

    here is the HJT log. i think this is right.
     
  4. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    Boot into safe mode. See how HERE. http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/tutorial61.html

    Turn off system restore.(XP/ME only) See how HERE. http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/tutorial56.html

    In Windows Explorer, turn on "Show all files and folders, including hidden and system". See how HERE. http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/tutorial62.html

    Open your task manager, by holding down the ctrl and alt keys and pressing the delete key.

    Click on the processes tab and end process for(if there).

    msnappm.exe

    Close task manager.

    Run HJT with no other programmes open. Have HJT fix the following, by placing a tick in the little box next to(if there).

    O2 - BHO: ST - {9394EDE7-C8B5-483E-8773-474BF36AF6E4} - C:\Program Files\MSN Apps\ST\01.03.0000.1005\en-xu\stmain.dll

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [msnsyslog] C:\WINDOWS\msnappm.exe

    O4 - Global Startup: Reset.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\repair\reset.bat

    O9 - Extra button: ShopperReports - Compare travel rates - {946B3E9E-E21A-49c8-9F63-900533FAFE15} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\shdocvw.dll

    O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://www.overture.com/d/search/p/befree/?Promo=befree0008898190 6563281284&Keywords=Home+Page&Go=Go&Promo=befree

    O15 - Trusted Zone: *.musicmatch.com
    O15 - Trusted Zone: *.musicmatch.com (HKLM)

    O16 - DPF: {8C875948-9C60-4381-9248-0DF180542D53} - http://installs.hotbar.com/installs/hbtools/programs/hbtools.cab

    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{8FC54A9D-C301-4D15-835D-371F652F5882}: NameServer = 203.134.24.70 203.134.26.70 <only fix this, if it doesn`t belong to your ISP.

    O18 - Protocol: msnim - {828030A1-22C1-4009-854F-8E305202313F} - "C:\PROGRA~1\MSNMES~1\msgrapp.dll" (file missing)

    Click on the fix checked button.

    Close HJT.

    Locate and delete the following bold files(if there).

    C:\WINDOWS\msnappm.exe

    Reboot into normal mode and turn system restore back on.


    Regards Howard :)
     
  5. focus_water

    focus_water TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 168

    thanks for the help Howard but it didnt work. i guess i will have to format the HDD, but someone stole my windows XP cd so i guess i will have to keep it like this for a while till i get a new one.
    X_X
     
  6. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    Download and run the ccleaner programme from HERE. It should get rid of your temp files.

    You can also try and get HJT to get rid of that file on reboot.

    If you run HJT and click on the config button, followed by the Misc Tools button. You will see amongst other things a button that says Delete file on reboot. If you click on this, a windows appears, where you can browse to the file you wish to delete. Open the file and HJT will ask you if you want to restart your computer. Click yes. The file should now be gone.

    Regards Howard :)
     
  7. Tedster

    Tedster Techspot old timer..... Posts: 6,000   +15

    Let us know how you like it. A lot of people here have been disapponted with Norton after 2003. I use systemworks 2003 with no issues - actually it's pretty good. Norton is known to e a system resource hog, but you have some control over it.

    I don't know anyone with 2006 edition.
     
  8. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 5,431   +28

    A new AV would be better but u would have to pay again for it(I'm assuming u paid for ur Norton AV). NOD32 is a good choice. I have been using it for over 3 years and its rock solid. It doesn't eat too many resources, updates in a flash and it doesn't allow anything to get in. Norton is good, but not the best, as they like to proclaim.
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...