TechSpot

Norton Internet Security 2005 problems?

By death
Nov 14, 2004
  1. shygirl

    shygirl TS Rookie

    NIS 2005 Problem... what else is new?

    I am running WindowsXP. Windows security, firewall, anti-virus is turned off. I've had Norton Internet Security 2005 on my machine for probably a month with no problems. Haven't installed anything new, haven't changed any options for any programs. In the past week, Norton decides to turn itself off.

    When I start the computer in the morning (not every morning) there will be a red "shield" saying you are at risk Norton needs to be activated. I click on it and everything (security, anti-virus, firewall) says it is on.

    This is a hit or miss kind of thing, it doesn't happen every time I turn it on or re-start it, but enough to be bothersome.

    I tried getting help at the symantec site with no success. Any suggestions (other than uninstalling it) would be appreciated... :rolleyes:
     
  2. Blakhart

    Blakhart TS Rookie Posts: 510

    I would ditch any firewall but the one that comes with xp. You will not be ble to find a faster firewall, unless it's external and hardware based.
    Secondly, if you want a decent and free antivrus, avg by grisoft is best.
    If you want a great one you have to pay for, my fav is FixIt Utilities by OnTrack.
     
  3. DonNagual

    DonNagual TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 3,566

    On my last computer, whenever I turned it on I would get the same thing. It would pop up a message saying anti-virus is not on. Then after a few seconds, that warning would shut down.

    Basically, the warning programs were loading up faster than Norton was. After norton finally loads up (it is a system hog), all is fine. It sounds like you are having the same thing I was having and if so, nothing to worry about.
     
  4. jazminep

    jazminep TS Rookie

    Please help!!

    Hello all...
    I bought the Norton Internet Security 2005 today and can't sign on to my Verizon DSL :eek:( I have to disable NIS in order to sign on to internet. Does anyone else have this problem? I have Windows XP. If you know how to fix the issue please let me know. If I had checked these messages before... I would've NEVER bought NIS! Anyway, any help will be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!!
     
  5. Vigilante

    Vigilante TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,120

    I think it's been said a thousand times already, get RID of Symantec/Norton! I have spent days upon days of wasting my life trying to fix their products. I won't spend another minute trying it again.
    Take it back, cut your losses. Dig a spoon down your ear and pick out all the "Norton is the best" TV and web hype that has drilled in to your subconscience. A 5 year old could write better software!

    If you really really think you have to buy something, and don't want to use good, free software; I've been really happy with the Panda. That is, Panda Platinum. Which is just the AV and Firewall. They have a "fuller" suite, but I've never used it.

    Then again, some people like pain....
     
  6. jazminep

    jazminep TS Rookie

    But how should I cancel?

    Thanks Vigilante for responding.
    Here's another stupid thing I did... instead of buying the NIS software from a good ol' trusted store like Costco, Office Depot, or Staples, I bought it over the internet via Symantec! They charge you $5/min to have someone talk to you on the phone for technical support... what a rip off! I tried to see if I could cancel my order or return it but I don't see any of those options on their website. Has anyone been succussful at that? If yes, I can use some help. I'm not a penny-pincher but I hate throwing $80 down the drain if I could help it! Thanks again!!

    p.s. I know some people (including family and friends) who are very happy with NIS... I know I'm not one of them! :mad:
     
  7. Vigilante

    Vigilante TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,120

    They may not charge you to talk to sales/info people. Rather then calling a paid "tech support" line, try calling a sales/info/status, whatever, and get your money back through them. I doubt they make you pay $5 an hour to BUY something on the sales line!
    Often if you start at a sales line and bawl them out, you can get somewhere without hitting the for-pay phone numbers.

    If you can't take it back, sell it to an unsuspecting noob on Ebay. lol
     
  8. alanc1943

    alanc1943 TS Rookie

    I have the same problem with nis

    I'm frustated with the same problems that you discribed.. Have you found a solution?
     
  9. RealBlackStuff

    RealBlackStuff TS Rookie Posts: 8,165

    Like anybody else who uses common sense, he most likely UNinstalled the crap and went for the free competion (AVG + Sygate/Kerios/Agnitum).
    Believe me, it's the best thing you'll ever do for your PC!
     
  10. DonNagual

    DonNagual TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 3,566

    RealBlackStuff,

    Is norton REALLY that bad? I have been using it for years now, and never had a problem. I don't really notice any slowdown in performance (perhaps because I typically have fast computers).

    I am not technically qualified to disagree with you, as you know much more than I on these matters, but if you are willing, can you give some more info? If it really is that bad, I suppose I had better consider changing.
     
  11. DellPC

    DellPC TS Rookie

    Nortons Is A Waste Of Money

    I build Cpu's For A Living I 'm a certified Tech and in every case of problems I come across is usally dealing with some type of nortons crappy software that you have to buy or pay for the up grade .Nortons will cause problems so you will have to buy more of there crappy stuff to fix something they caused in the first place so with that being said you should use software that updates everyday and gives you free software to do that these are the best software on the web and are free. anti-virus use www.grisoft.com For Firewall use www.kerio.com
     
     
  12. RealBlackStuff

    RealBlackStuff TS Rookie Posts: 8,165

    This is really a moot subject!
    Look at the many HiJackThis log-files that are submitted to this forum alone:
    over 90% of these submitters use Symantec. That alone should be food for thought!
    Symantec (as well as McAfee) forces your PC to install M$ .NET, otherwise it won't work. And for .NET to work, you MUST have that PoS crap Internet Explorer, which has more holes than a Swiss Emmental cheese!
    When yet another IE security hole is discovered, it takes M$ WEEKS or MONTHS to come up with a fix of kinds.
    When a problem is discovered in an Open Source product like Firefox, it is fixed in DAYS!

    Problems that are caused by Symantec's crappy bloatware in the first place, need even more bloat from the same manufacturer to get fixed! Symantec do NOT have daily updates.
    A lot of Symantec installations have a LifeUpdate that does not work (properly) either.
    Freebies like AVG and Avast have updates on a daily base!
    Now who would/should you trust more?

    Symantec (and McAfee) force you to ACTIVATE their bloatware, just like Windows XP. Welcome free world....

    The fact that the likes of Dell, whose PCs are getting worse with every new range, push this rubbish down your throat by putting a 90-day trial of Symantec/McAfee on their PCs, is not conducive either.
    Speaking of Dell, their latest products don't even have a Parallel port anymore, NOR any PS/2 ports, never mind a floppy drive. They also come without a Firewire port.
    For these last two (floppy + firewire) you have to pay dearly as an expensive option!
    And of course they use Intel and always the most expensive type of exotic memory (see that Rambus/RDRAM crap, and now DDR2, hugely expensive, without gaining anything over SDRAM or DDR).

    I think I've made my point, and sincerely hope that anybody who reads this, will consider other AV products than Symantec (and McAfee)!

    Final thoughts: I bet Peter Norton is thoroughly pissed off by Symantec ruining his (Norton's) good reputation.
    Anything that Symantec takes on, turns into s h i t e, witness e.g. Partition Magic and DriveImage.

    Anyway, enough ranting for one day!
     
  13. Powerline75

    Powerline75 TS Rookie

    I have a suggestion allright!
    GET RID OF NORTON!!!! Especcially of you have anything after 2003 version! Ever since the 2003 version of any Norton product, they seem to give more problems than solutions. I believe it have something to do with the activating process. Everything start to go wrong AFTER you activate the pogram.
     
  14. tomrca

    tomrca TS Rookie Posts: 1,051

    naughty norton

    open norton up, select 'personal firewall' then select configure, select medium on the friewall, select the tab programmes tick automatic control box also run a scan for accessable internet programmes.
    i have norton its not very good. i now run 'ewido' with it for better protection, doesn't miss anything.
     
  15. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 25,948   +19


    Hey RBS.

    That`s the best thing I`ve read all day :p

    I think I might print it out, and put it on the wall lol

    Maybe it`s my daft sense of humour, but I was laughing for ages.

    I must say that I agree with everything you said.

    Thanks for brightening up my exceedingly dull day.

    Regards Howard :haha: :haha:
     
  16. N_Haukes

    N_Haukes TS Rookie

    2005 hurts my computer's feelings

    If ever there was an ineffective feature in Norton 2005, it's the exclusion lists. I tried using them after Norton wouldn't let me browse for game servers, to no avail. Every time I try to find a CS:S server it would ask me to either 'permit' or 'block' the program. I'd choose permit, but it would keep asking. So I got used to turning it off for 15 min, or until restart, so I could get in a server and shut norton up.

    Just when I thought I'd solved my problem Battlefield 2 comes out...and I thought Steam put up a fight. Norton won't listen. Even when I'm in a server. My comp was built for gaming (more specifically HL2), and now norton's crushing my machine's born purpose. You guys have mentioned some other AVs I'd like to try. It just makes me sad I paid 50 bucks for the worst norton yet....

    In summation: Norton Ativirus 2005 = puke:
     
  17. macx

    macx TS Maniac Posts: 745

    OK - no more NIS, but then what??

    I'm no techhy, but I relate to much of the above!
    Especially about worms and trojans. My "wonderful"
    NIS itself got a worm that wouldn't allow it to connect
    to the Norton site to update! NOT very impressive!

    Now, I'm building a new unit and will have XP, about
    which I know very little. (98SE before)

    SO - what would be a good plan?
    Without a router.

    (Help me sort thru all the good suggestions above,
    and links would be much appreciated for downloads!)

    Or, would it be good to get a (cheap) single port router?
    Just for the firewall?

    So - for XP Home
    (1) What anti-virus?
    (2) What firewall?
    (3) What's good against worms & trojans

    Not being that strong on software to start with,
    I sure don't need NIS causing me any more probs!

    Oh - on Search & Destroy, how do I know what to
    delete - it seems to admit that deleting all the stuff
    it finds may cause problems that then have to be
    fixed. Don't need that prob either!
    Or does the "immunize" button take care of all
    of that?

    Thanks for any good advice for a "layman"
    who's trying to get up to speed!
     
  18. tomrca

    tomrca TS Rookie Posts: 1,051

    i had a problem where norton would not connect to live update. if you are getting an warning error warning code past it into google or norton live update won't connect as i did, i found information someone had posted stating that a dll file should be renamed or deleted.

    after saying that, you will most likely be advised to get another anti-virus and security programme by the techsperts on here. my advice is 'DO IT'.
     
  19. }{yBr!D^

    }{yBr!D^ TS Rookie Posts: 74

    I've been having problems with NIS 2005 with AIM v5.9.3861. Previously I was able to work everything smoothly but MS Office 2003 Pro had a minor conflict with NIS 2005 and I had to uninstall norton. Doing this solved that problem, then I wasn't able to Direct IM but I'm able to send files and such. I have things set on Outgoing, Incoming and AOL proxy server. Not much seems to work and I didn't do anything in the past to make it work, it just wored lol. Is there a way to by pass this, I thought it was the router at first but once I turned off the personal firewall everything worked... Microsoft Firewall is off btw.
     
  20. JimOnSquam

    JimOnSquam TS Rookie

    Well well... if only I had read this thread or many others like it before I installed NIS 2005 last May. I too find I am one of the frustrated users of one of the most irritrating pieces of software I have ever come across. To make matters worse, I have attempted to get support from them. It is very difficult to even understand the support people in India and as for their interaction... there is none. All they do is work from scripts. Its incredible! I have completely removed NIS 2005 but still have some residual problems. What a freaking pain! Now I am doing some research to see what seems to be a decent anti-virus product. Don't need the other bells and whistles anyway.

    If you want to see my problem in detail, see my post "Possible conflict between Outlook Express 6.0 and Norton Internet Security 2005 " :mad:

    Thanks for a great forum... Jim
     
  21. macx

    macx TS Maniac Posts: 745

    Just to repeat what the experts on this site have said,
    and what they use: (and what I have switched to
    after I also ditched NIS!)

    The below all have free home versions
    if I recall, I purchased some of the more
    complete "full" versions which are not
    that expensive considering the expense
    and problems they can prevent:

    AVG Free anti virus
    Sygate Personal Firewall (free)
    Ewido security suite (spyware etc)
    Ad-Aware from Lavasoft
    Spybot Search & Destroy
    (careful, there's a fake site out there,
    the real URL www.merijn.org)
    Hijack This (look on this post, in the
    stickies at the top, for lots of into on this)
    Spyware Blaster (you want at least 2 diff
    spyware things)
    Spyware Guard (actually blocks spyware)
    A physical router with a firewall is also
    highly recommended

    Kaspersky has a very good anti virus,
    as well as a very good security suite
    (paid)


    do NOT hook into Spyware Search & Destroy!
    their ads are bogus and they are on a
    "Rogue's List" of suspect spyware sites even!

    My old computer got blasted - the Registry -
    and luckily I was starting to build a new one.
    At work, I downloaded all the above onto
    a flash drive and loaded them all into the
    new one before I once hooked it to the
    internet. No mas! No mas!

    If I end up having problems now, I'm
    going to sell my new one and buy a Mac!
    My PC has gotten wiped out 3 times now,
    and my wife's Mac and our 2 daughters
    (ea with a Mac) have not had problem
    one in nearly 20 cumulative years of
    online!
     
  22. abroomfield

    abroomfield TS Rookie

    Norton

    i have norton internet security 2005. i installed it and it was fine ages ago but lately it started playin up like not loading the instant messenger scanner. i uninstalled then ive come to reinstalling and when i do, half way through the setup a message box appears saying:

    IDSERR_REGISTERWITHLIVEUPDATE
    OK

    then i click ok and this error message comes up:

    NORTON INTERNET SECURITY 2005 HAS FAILED DO YOU WANT TO TRY AND INSTAL AGAIN?
    RETRY CANCEL

    i clicked retry and the progress bar went further but it keeps going over the same file and i keep retrying it.

    it wont install properly, does anyone know what i can do?
     
  23. Tedster

    Tedster Techspot old timer..... Posts: 10,074   +13

    never had a problem with spybot search & destroy.... works great

    don't know about spyware search & destroy.... sounds like an imposter..
     
  24. Tedster

    Tedster Techspot old timer..... Posts: 10,074   +13

    "And of course they use Intel and always the most expensive type of exotic memory (see that Rambus/RDRAM crap, and now DDR2, hugely expensive, without gaining anything over SDRAM or DDR)"

    -interesting.... I don't see too much hoopla over DDR2 ram at all either....
     
  25. p05ta1

    p05ta1 TS Rookie Posts: 25

    AVG Free is the way to go. Norton 2005 was a system hog and Macafee misses virus. I work on pc and see the problems of both scans. I install AVG free and every seems very happy with it.
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.