TechSpot

Norton Internet Security 2005 problems?

By death
Nov 14, 2004
  1. Blakhart

    Blakhart TS Rookie Posts: 510

    The reason you don't see much gain over ddr1 is that ddr2 really has nothing to offer, at present. In the future when ddr2 speeds take off, you will see a benefit. Right now, iirc, ddr2 also has a latency penalty that ddr1 doesn't have. This will all be made irrelevant when ddr2 speeds increase.

    As to av, I probably said it earlier, avg if you want free, FixIt Utilities by On Track if you want the best.
     
  2. kapeed1986

    kapeed1986 TS Rookie Posts: 24

    if some one wants to uninstall NIS and is having troubles/errors , goto

    Referer http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPOR...nsf=nav.nsf&view=docid&dtype=&prod=&ver=&osv=

    and download SymNRT ... It completely removes the NIS and all other Threads, Processes..

    If it fails, boot in safe mode, manually delete ALL norton folders (including ones with name Symantec ..in Documents and Settings )
    reboot and delete all registry entries with regedit, having Symantec or norton.
    Dilema solved.
     
  3. alphnumeric

    alphnumeric TS Rookie Posts: 209

    Another NIS 2005 dissatisfied customer. All I wanted was the banner add/ popup blocker portion. At least with the 2005 version you have the option to turn off the antispam portion. I find that outlook 2003 does a good enough job of blocking spam on it's own. Anyway what would happen to me is I'd be browsing the web and all of a sudden I'd get a bunch of red X's where pictures should be. If I'd refresh the page or click another link I'd get a page cannot be found screen. I couldn't even connect to my routers status page. I'd have to reboot to get my internet back. This was happening several times a day so I uninstalled NIS. Gee you know what, no more problems with connectivity. I'm using AVG and am happy with it. I'm behind a router and don't run a software firewall. Speaking or software firewalls I'd just like to mention something worth thinging about. Namely that the windows firewall only blocks incoming attacks. It won't stop anything from going out once you are infected. I believe that just about every other software firewall mentioned in this thread blocks outgoing too. Can you tell I'm not a big fan of the windows firewall. :)
     
  4. wannabeageek

    wannabeageek TS Rookie

    Norton Internet Security 2005

    I hope someone can help me. Norton sure can't.
    In Dec 2005, my Norton Internet Security 2005 would go through the motions for liveupdate, even stating that the update was complete, but the virus definitions won't update past Nov 23, 2005. Then Internet Security continues to prompt me to liveupdate and get current. But it won't actually update! My subscription to Internet Security is good until June 2006.
    Can anyone help? I have Windows XP professional. Thanks much.
     
  5. Spike

    Spike TS Rookie Posts: 2,371

    Hi Wannabeageek. Welcome to techspot.

    I'm afraid the only advice I personally am willing to give on the subject of norton is to ditch it. I realise you've paid up to june, but to be honest you can install AVG free for absolutely nothing and have better and less buggy protection, with less bloat too, and improve the speed of your system all in one go.

    There really is no point in sticking with something useless just because you paid for it - not when there are better and free alternatives out there.
     
  6. macx

    macx TS Maniac Posts: 745

    Before I discovered Tech Spot and all the wisdom therein,
    I had Norton.

    Little did I know!

    I, too, had a subscription well beyond my discovery date.

    I ditched it and substituted things like AVG Free (FREE),
    AdAware (FREE), Spybot Search & Destroy (FREE),
    Spyware Blaster (FREE), Spyware Guard (FREE),
    CWShredder (FREE), Sygate Personal Firewall (FREE),
    Hijack This (don't find it via a search - that one is bogus
    and dangerous, look at the posts on the Internet security
    section of this forum for the REAL source, and Ewido Security
    Suite (low cost). Now I'm safe,secure, and lower overall cost
    than Norton, and NO interference from any of them in downloading
    or opening anything!

    BEST thing I ever did for that secure feeling!
     
  7. X-Generation

    X-Generation TS Rookie

    my NIS 2005 block yahoo messenger...even though i choose "permit" to allow YM connect to net but it will jamm ter...and i need abt 10 minutes to restart pc...without restart my Ym will non -respond ter :dead:

    any idea how 2 solve this problem ???
     
  8. computer help

    computer help TS Rookie Posts: 86

    Lets be reall here

    I have been an it admin for 5yrs
    and all of the Antivirus programs listed in this forum are absolute rubbish if you want a real antivirus solution that works download and install this one
    its name is avast and its the best in the world !!! register on there site for free and they will give you a valid license for 14 months
    thats how much faith they have in their product !!! :slurp:

    http://www.download.com/Avast-Home-Edition/3000-2239_4-10375520.html?tag=lst-0-1
     
  9. FezFury

    FezFury TS Rookie

    Ok so the problem ive been having had to do with World of Warcraft and Norton, basically i installed the game a while agao no problem and after a patch for the game coule of weeks ago, i noticed that when i did start up warcraft it just froze on me. i thought maybe it had to do with the firewall protection on Norton on allowing access from certain programs, so i went in there to remove the old warcraft entries and re add them, but as soon as i removed one norton went "not responding" and even after repeated clicks of End Now it just hangs there and also i cant do a manual scan as well the schedule did work until i tested to see i i could schedule one for an hour later and then now it just doesnt pop up at all. This is the norton internet security 2005 that came with the comp when i bought it. If there is anyone out there that can help it would be greatly appreciated.

    thanks, in advance
     
  10. Darksiege

    Darksiege TS Rookie

    amusing....

    Well I do not know how I had never encountered this site before. But I love it. I have also been using avast for years.

    But I am currently trying to research a little bit to suggest programs for AVS and Firewall for my company to recommend to customers because our software is directly being crippled at times by Norton. I was thinking of Avast and Windows XP Firewall as our suggestions. Any others that could be suggested would be greatly appreciated.
     
  11. Spike

    Spike TS Rookie Posts: 2,371

    once more, and has been said a great many times by a great many people, the XP Firewall is awful. Sure, it's better than nothing, but it's REALLY no recommendation to be making.

    The recommedations are... Sunbelt Kerio Personal Firewall (free) or Zone Alarm (free).

    I Continue to stand by AVG, but I note a number of people starting to recommed Avast. Then again, a lot of people recommend Norton, but that doesn't alter the fact that it's a pile of crap, and so I'm not going to recommend Avast until either I myself have checked it out, or a person I know to be worth listening to recomends it above AVG (I name no names, but that would be at least most of the forum moderators, and one or two of the techspot addicts of whom I have some idea of their ability)

    Asa for that comment about all of the AV recommendations in this forum being "rubbish", well, the less said about a person who would have the arrogance and gaul to say that the better really. lol
     
     
  12. Darksiege

    Darksiege TS Rookie

    I will check into this AVG and the firewalls, thank you.
     
  13. Spike

    Spike TS Rookie Posts: 2,371

  14. pmacca

    pmacca TS Rookie

    Help Please!!!

    Hi All,

    Yes I too installed Norton Internet Security and its already driving my crazy. It takes forever to download e-mails, for it it to boot and little messages pop up all the time to tell me how good it was that I spent $120 on it.

    Help please if you can, I used to play on a Java site called pogo. Now that I installed Internet security it wont recognise my java applets. I've clicked rebooted and lowered my security settings but no good. If anyone has any help I would be extremely grateful.

    thanks Macca.
     
  15. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 25,948   +19

    HELLO and welcome to Techspot.

    Go and download the free AVG, and free Zonealarm programmes in Spikes posts above. Then uninstall that Norton crapware.

    Your computer will run a lot better without it.

    Regards Howard :wave: :wave:
     
  16. Beg4Mercy

    Beg4Mercy TS Rookie

    Norton has given me problems as well especially with some of my online games. I just use SpySweeper and a router now hehehe!
     
  17. Crazyboy

    Crazyboy TS Rookie

    Symantec Antivirus keeps diappearing

    My sister has an interesting problem on her Packard Bell Laptop! A downloaded version of Symantec Antivirus was put oner oher laptop by a friend and worked fine for a day or so. Now if you attempt to go anywhere near the icon at the bottom right of screen, it will disappear! Just goes without a trace! The uninstall function has gone too! Not sure if it was ever there but its now gone. Restore gets it back, but for a short while. Anybody got any ideas?
     
  18. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 25,948   +19

    Hello and welcome to Techspot.


    Go HERE And download this Norton uninstaller. It will allow you to see Norton In add remove programmes.

    This seems to be particular to Packard Bell computers.

    Regards Howard :wave: :wave:
     
  19. gitrdun

    gitrdun TS Rookie

    did you find out how to fix Norton

    did you find out how to fix Norton
     
  20. Crazyboy

    Crazyboy TS Rookie

    :(
    Hi Howard!
    Thanks very much for your quick response. I’ve just tried exactly as you suggested. When we try to remove using add and remove program, we obtain the following message. I'm probably doing something wrong.We do not have an E: drive! I’m now also aware that this E: drive is sometimes mentioned on error messages involving her MS Office too. Where has this E:/ appeared from? It certainly cant been seen. Any ideas?
    Again thanks for helping.

    Message as follows:
    The feature you are trying to use is on a network resource that is unavailable. Click ok to try again, or enter an alternate path to a folder containing the installation package to “Symantec antivirus.msi”

    Use feature from E:/Symantec antivirus corporate addition 10.0.1/

    She selects ok

    Mess: The path cannot be found.
     
  21. technick1552

    technick1552 TS Rookie

    Many Options

    I am not a big fan of the Norton products anymore myself. After alot of investigating and testing, I have selected the avast! home version. It is also free for home use with a one year registration. Just renew it anually.

    I have heard alot of good about Ant-Vir and AVG as well. Clam antivirus is not very attractive, but very thorough and again, it is free.

    The key point to remember is the difference between an Antivirus solution and internet security solution. The AV just helps prevent, and/or remove viruses through real time and full systems scanning. The ISS prevents you from even getting exposure to the virus by blocking you from code and or sites that have the "potential" to be a problem. They do this by using "intrusion detection" looking for a certain fingerprint that is evident in certain types malicious software.

    You can install the two separatly, even of two different brands. There is a lot of free ID software available as well. This link has a lot of good information about a lot of free software and the writer did a great job in reviewing and providing guidance into free software.

    http://www.techsupportalert.com/best_46_free_utilities.htm
     
  22. Dj_NoC

    Dj_NoC TS Rookie

    i currently use Norton 2005 *Thumbs Down* and it has taken me about the last 4 months to get it working how i would expect. it is true about its lack in ablility to detect and remove common trojans and has an evergrowing range of problems. Especially browser related ones..

    My say.... F**K Nortan!

    Never goin to buy it again....
     
  23. dforrest

    dforrest TS Rookie

    Is there a way to temporarily prevent Norton Internet Security 2005 (and Norton AntiVirus) loading at boot-up?
     
  24. Jimbo420

    Jimbo420 TS Rookie Posts: 484

    Even if you disable the autoprotect feature Norton is still running all sort of other processes in the background. You best bet is to just uninstall it from your system and then burn the CD's. Then you look into some of the software that is suggested that you use in this thread.
     
  25. rockyinluv

    rockyinluv TS Rookie


    when y0u vist the game site, please do not log in. Click the Norton Internet Security tool bar in Internet Explorer and uncheck the options to block ads and pop ups and then try loggin in
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.