Not sure if overclocking worked

steve101010

Hey there,

This was my first time overclocking a computer. After doing everything my computer started up normal. My question is when using "cpu-z" it show's my computer at normal core speed 3.4ghz However if I go back into the bios and check it's telling me I am overclocked to 4.3ghz.

I looked at a lot of video's to give me the basic's and chose this one because it was the same bios.

i5 4670k @ 4.3GHz Overclock ASRock Z87 Extreme4
www.youtube.com

I am running the I5 4670k with the corsair 75 water cooler and GTX 770

I'm not an expert but from what I can see the top bit (Specification:) shows the stock specifications of the CPU when you take it out of the box but the Core Speed is what the CPU is currently clocked at.

The video isn't mine. That's the one I copied. In his video using cpu-z it shows the core speed at stocked and over stocked. However in mine it shows stock for both sections under cpu-z

Is your motherboard the same as the attached YouTube clip? If not, what is the make and model of your motherboard?
Take a screen shot of your CPU-Z and attach it to this thread. Also, if you can, take a picture or screen shot of your BIOS screen showing the CPU speed.

Are you using the latest version of CPUz and what does CPUz report the clock multiplier range as being?

What motherboard are you using and can you provide a screenshot of the BIOS settings you are using.

UPDATE: I just saw the photo of CPUz you uploaded. The system is overclocked, CPUz is reporting a multiplier range of 8 - 46x. Run a program such as Prime95 on a single core and the frequency should hit 4.6GHz. If you want it to run at 4.6GHz on all cores as soon as the system is underload you will have to enable that in the BIOS. It will of course cause the system to use more power and generate more heat.

Are you using the latest version of CPUz and what does CPUz report the clock multiplier range as being?