NVIDIA 8600GT: ECS or XFX?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steeevoe

Whats the difference between ECS or XFX 8600GT cards?

Is it just the price? Is it worth paying some extra money?

If I was to buy one of these cards without a warrenty, is it likely that my new card won't work?

Sorry, about all the questions. I'm new to G-Cards. Currently have a 7300LE and want an upgrade so I can play games such as UT3 with a reasonable resolution, no glitching. I dont really want to pay much either. I have seen these cards at roughly £60 and £80. which is a reasonable price for me.

Theres not really much of a difference other than the fact that xfx offers factory overclocked versions of their cards. As far as warranty goes im not too sure about ECS but I do know that xfx has double lifetime warranties on their cards meaning that in the future you could sell or give your card to someone and the warranty would cover them too.

I'd avoid ECS like the plague. Their mobos are already crap as it is, so I wouldn't expect much from their video cards either. As for your video card choice, this will provide much better performance than the XFX 8600GT for a slightly lower price and free shipping. Cheers and good luck mate. :)

Thanks,

But, we have just discovered a floor in the computer we want to put it in. (This one has 16Mb graphics card lol)

It has an AGP slot ><

I have read around and found that you can't get a PCI Card to AGP moverboard convertor, and that you there are very few "up-to-date" graphics cards that have AGP connector.

We could put our card in this PC but then it will void our warrenty :S

You would never believe this!

We just tried the original card we bought but this does not fit in our PC!!
The Slot and Socket match, but because the one we bought was a passive cooled one, the mega cooling fins stick into the mega CPU cooler.

So....

Due to a lack of funds, would moving from the nVidia GeForce 8600GT to a Radeon HD 2600XT be a sensible swap + £7?

Thanks