Nvidia Overheating? Help!

By theasusboy
Nov 30, 2007
  1. (If I sound kind of dumb, thats because I am a newbie)
    I have a Nvidia 8600 GT Eagle 512 mb
    (the rest of the components are an Intel core 2 duo 2.66GHZ E6700, 5 fans on the case, 650Watt Power supply, Asus DW5 DH deluxe motherboard, 2 GB ram)

On average the temperatures on the card are around 57-56 C. When I run ATI tool (when I run the 3D view) the temperatures skyrocket, sometimes to more than 85 C (once it reached 90. THe strange thing is is that the card is not overclocked, and this happens when I just render the cube in ATITOOL (the 3D view). All the other components stay below 60. The worrying thing is that as soon as I reach above 85 C the screen begins to flicker and artifacts appear, so I ahve to switch off ATITOOL. It usually takes about 30 sec.

Is this normal (I have a fan installed on the GPU, running at 100%).
  2. LinkedKube

LinkedKube TechSpot Project Baby Posts: 3,481   +44

I think ATI is using the cards full potential, making it heat up, I use ati tool as well. Did something similar on my card, all in all, if nothing else is wrong, leave ati tool alone.
  3. theasusboy

theasusboy TS Rookie Topic Starter

thanks a lot
    I'll just leave it alone, you see it was kind of scary since if i left it on for too long artifacts appeared all over the screen!
  4. theasusboy

I still have the problem. When i run Black & White 2 at the highest settings the temperatures go up above 93 C. When this happens after a few minutes the screen begins to have artifacts and lines, as if you have bad reception on a TV and then it shuts down. If i switch on the computer immediately after this the picture is still jittery and the jitteriness slowly fades away
  5. pdyckman@comcas

pdyckman@comcas TS Rookie Posts: 527

Don't run these things that get it so hot.
  6. theasusboy