Opinion on new graphics card

Status
Not open for further replies.

rev_olie

Hey,

I'm looking to upgrade my PC. I have been doing little bits over time and feel now its only lacking in RAM and my 9500GT graphics card.

I've now got an extra 2GB DDR2 RAM ordered and ready so my attention turns to the graphics. This is an area i have no real knowledge in so i was hoping someone my have an opinion.

I've got about £100 to spend and when i said that they immediatley said This Card an XFX HD 4870.

My worries are for that card:
My PSU
Heat.

I've got a Coolermaster Real power modular 520W PSU which had the required 6Pin graphics pci-e cables but has it got enough power to run this card and a Quad core 6600 Intel processor?

Also apparently its fairly hot? Anyone shed any light on that?

Thanks

The XFX HD4870s are great cards, but you need to base your choices on what you mainly use your computer for. If you're looking to play the most GPU-intensive games, you want to aim for an enthusiast card (high-clock speeds, lots of onboard RAM etc...) but if you use the system for general computing, you don't need that power. As for the power supply, you need to find the amperage rating on the +12v rail(s) in order to figure out power requirements.

Thanks for the reply.

The PC is used for a wide variety of Jobs but everyday it usually has a game going. I'm mainly on Crisis or Call of Duty World at War and Modern Warfare.

As for the amperage, the unit reads 4 different 12V readings with 3x19A on the +12 and 1x 0.8A on the -12
Overall showing 480 overall on the 12v rail.