Opinions on possible PC

Status
Not open for further replies.

Noyz3001

Folks,

Very happy to find a place like this. I would greatly recommend any opinions or suggestions regarding my prospective new system. I am an extremely busy filmmaker and my business has exploded over the last 12 months. I have outgrown my 02 Gateway and am looking to custom build my next system.

Here's what I have in mind:

Intel D915PBLL Motherboard and P4 540 3.2Ghz CPU

Ultra 1024MB PC4200 DDR2 533MHz Memory (x2)

Maxtor / 250GB / 7200 / 8MB / SATA-150 / OEM / Hard Drive (x2 for C: & D: drives) *I currently use a Maxtor 200GB external, Seagate 200GB external and an Acomdata 250GB external for video.

PNY Quadro FX 500 / 128MB DDR / AGP 8X / VGA / DVI / Video Card

Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy 2 OEM Sound Card

SONY DRU720A / 16x8x16x DVD+RW / 16x6x16x DVD-RW / 4x DVD+RW DL / 48x24x40x CD-RW / Internal DVD±RW Burner (E: Drive)

SONY 16x internal DVD+/-R Burner OEM (F: Drive)

Are there any opinions or suggestions about this group of components? Any suggestions for machines that deal strictly with hours of video editing?

Any help is appreciated! Thanks!
-N

You have selected some very nice components, BUT...

Your chosen motherboard is PCI Express and your chosen card is AGP. These don't match.
Look at nVidia for more details: http://www.nvidia.com/page/quadrofx.html

Also have a look at Plextor's SATA DVD-writers, such as PX-712SA or later.
They go easier on your CPU than Sony's products.
After all that mobo has four SATA-connectors!

Whoa..

I never even considered the whole video card compatibility issue. Thanks! I'm now targeting the eVGA GeForce 6800GT (256MB DDR3; Dual DVI; PCI Express). It's a bit more costly but as long as I stay under $400 for a video card, I'm good. I just want to make sure I'm getting something geared toward what I will be using it for. The Dual DVI is very attractive.