TechSpot

our network has no master browser

By jwr_1986
Aug 11, 2005
  1. Yesterday our company network (file sharing) went down. We have been trying to find the problem since then and have gotten to the point of checking each computer to see which one is the master browser. The problem seems to be that none of them are. Any thoughts on a corrective action to get the master browser election process going again would be great, thanks.

    Jesse
     
  2. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,348   +622

  3. jwr_1986

    jwr_1986 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 22

    Thanks for the link but I think I've tried what it has suggested. Almost all of our company's computers have rebooted at some point in the course of the last day and they are a mix of 98 special and xp home and pro. Yet when I go around checking there still seems to be no master browser. Thanks again.

    Jesse

    correction, I was using Fire Fox and it didn't display the site right. When I viewed it from work I realized that there was a lot more there. Thanks

    Jesse
     
  4. jwr_1986

    jwr_1986 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 22

    Net View Error 6118

    I ran net view and it returned the error 6118. Hope this helps make solving the problem a bit easier. Thanks again.

    Jesse
     
  5. HoopaJoop

    HoopaJoop TS Rookie Posts: 90

    Do you have a DC?

    If so you should shut down your servers, bring up the DC, then bring up the other servers. If you have any BDC's bring those up just after the DC.
     
  6. jwr_1986

    jwr_1986 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 22

    I'm sorry but what is a DC and a BDC? I'm new to this but I'm trying to learn. Thanks for your help.

    Jesse
     
  7. HoopaJoop

    HoopaJoop TS Rookie Posts: 90

    A DC is a Domain Controller. In NT4 a BDC is a Backup Domain controller. BDC's are used for some fault tolerance and load balancing.

    In a Windows 2000/2003 Active Directory domain, there is no BDC really. DC's aren't hierarchical in Active Directory domains. While some DC's have roles that other's do not, they are all on the same level.

    If you have a DC, all servers should be taken down and the DC brought up first, followed by any other DC's or BDC's. Then bring up any additional servers.
     
  8. jwr_1986

    jwr_1986 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 22

    Thanks for the assistance. The problem was related to a faulty RJ-45 plug that we belive was causing a short. The situation has been resolved and has not reoccured since then. Once again thanks for the assistance.

    Jesse
     
  9. HoopaJoop

    HoopaJoop TS Rookie Posts: 90

    I always forget about the first troubleshooting steps...
     
  10. jwr_1986

    jwr_1986 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 22

    I regret to inform the group that the problem has returned. I am going to check everyones connections tonight to rule that out. I have a bad feeling it won't be so simple this time. If anyone has anymore thoughts please come to my rescue.

    Thanks
    Jesse
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...