Outlook e-mail account receiving but not sending.

Status
Not open for further replies.

tom_oftheplains

Hey, folks. I'm new to the site and came here because I can't seem to find any answers elsewhere online.

I'm a Network Administrator for a medium-sized company, and one of my people, while using MS Outlook, is able to receive new messages but not send them.

When she types up a new message, it goes into the Sent Messages folder, there's nothing in the Outbox, and nothing on the server. For all intents and purposes, the message was sent. But it never arrives.

Anyone else have this problem/have advice? We're running on a 2003 MS Exchange server. Thanks tons!

- T

hi with regards to outlook email account recieving not sending

DUDE!!!

reinstall the settings man!!!!! ehehehe... try to remove the old account then add it again!!! there are currently some issues when it comes to pop3 plus if you are using windows vista but it depends on what you really use....

The usual causes of email not being sent -:

1.An add-in that marks items read if you view the Outbox.(Tools, Options, Other, Advanced, Com add-ins)

2.Not authenticating properly with the mail server.

3.No default email account set.

4.Using a program that access the pst or ost data, such as MSN Desktop Search.

5.An antispam or antivirus scanner is scanning outgoing mail.

Details HERE and HERE

Thanks for your responses. I followed up on your suggestions, but it's still not sending. Receiving just fine, but every time I send a new e-mail, it's as if nothing happened.

The server/user relationship is working fine. The default e-mail account is in place. We're not using a third party anti-spam anything that could be getting in the way.

Still stumped.

Configure Account