Overclocking a Dell XPS 420!?

Status
Not open for further replies.

British_Command

I'm new to the whole overclocking thing, but I get the gist of what it is anyways basically my friend said it was a 'must do' thing so yeah.

I was reading around and it didn't seem to safe to overclock a DELL computer. But I could only find reasons to not overclock a DELL on the older systems whereas this system is quite new.

I don't know if DELL have changed at all but I'm looking to overclock the Q6600 quad core 2.33 ghz processor and 8800GTX gfx card.

Thanks,
any help appreciated.

No problem, mate ;)

I don't know how well Dell's OC but it is an XPS so it's built for gaming and high performance and whatnot.

There's two options really, either search around for people who have done what you want to do, or try it and see how it goes. But don't get over-enthusiastic, or you'll end up with a rather expensive door stop.

Thanks

Thanks for the info,
Only reason I have really check up on 'Overclocking' is because my friend set I should be able to run COD4 on highest gfx with a 8800GTX averaging 60 - 80 fps but I seem to be only averaging 45fps... in my opinion I can't see the difference but If my graphics card has potential to run better than it already does then I wanted to look for a way of making it run better.

I know this is kind of an old thread, but maybe I can be of some help. I purchased a Dell XPS 420 Q6600 and was able to overclock it to 3.2ghz. I did a write up on how to do it.
home.austin.rr.com/waterdogs2/xps420.htm

E8500

catfish45 said:
I know this is kind of an old thread, but maybe I can be of some help. I purchased a Dell XPS 420 Q6600 and was able to overclock it to 3.2ghz. I did a write up on how to do it.

Can this process be done to the newer processor E8500 anyone please will be appreciated.

catfish45 said: