Overclocking an Athlon 64 3200+ Venice 2.0GHz

Status
Not open for further replies.

i_am_a_newbie

I've just started playing F.E.A.R, and my oh my is it amazing.

Anywho, I have to have CPU settings to very low or the game will be very choppy for me(I have gpu settings on the highest and it works just fine until I try to boost the CPU setting).

Anywho, I'd like to overclock this CPU a little just so I can run it at least a step higher without experiencing the choppy play.

I have a Zalman HS/F and my CPU runs around 30-33C at idle, and 41 is the highest I've seen it go under load.

Motherboard is ASUS A8N32-SLI Premium.

I'm pretty new at this overclocking thing, and I would like some advice before I proceed to fry my parts:knock:

PS Replacing the CPU with a better one won't be a problem if the worst happens and I mess up, however, I have to learn some time don't I? I understand the risks involved, and am seeking advice to minimize said risk.

Thank you.

*title edited*

If you don't increase your voltage, you won't end up with anything blowing up. Might lose all data on your HDD in the worst case. (CPU only, unlocking graphic card pipelines are a different story)

Remember to lock PCI/AGP/SRC.

Also, you didn't mention anything about your RAM, more RAM may help, assuming you didn't have enough to start with. when overclocking CPU, you'd most probably overclock the RAM as well, but as mentioned, no permanent hardware damage unless voltage is increased. RAM usually can take a higher voltage tho, so might want to increase 0.1V if its not stable.

I'd suggest holding off any voltage changes for now, until you get a better idea of what you're doing.

I'd prefer not to overclock my RAM actually. As the timings and stuff seems a lot more complicated than bus speeds etc.

Anywyas, back to my questions.