Overclocking problems.

Status
Not open for further replies.

CMH

Okay, this will make me sound like a complete newbie to some, but yeh, I hardly have ever dabbled in this paranormal business of overclocking.

First, my comp specs are available on the site if you know how to access it, but if you don't, here it is:
P4 2.4C Northwood
Gigabyte GA8IPE1000
2x512mb kingston PC2700 (yeh, I know this is less than the max I can use, but I didn't pay for the comp. Will upgrade later)
MSI Geforce FX5600 (not an OC friendly graphics I heard)
120gb Seagate SATA
and some other peripherals that don't need mentioning.

Can't find out model of casing, but it currently has 1x120mm exhaust near PSU, 2x80mm inhales, top and side. Working pretty well.

anyway, when running at 2.4ghz, full load will give a temp of about 35C according to MBM5. Here's the clincher: I OCed to 3.0 (locked AGP and mem speeds) and found that full load only goes up to 30C. I got a feeling something's not right, but left it running for another 30 mins with a CPU burn in program (and it said it was perfectly stable). And after that reduced it back to 2.4ghz.

Any idea why at all it'll run at a lower temp? Nothing else changed (fan speeds, program run, voltage, etc).

Also, I'm interested to continue having my computers running 24/7, will OC cause any problems assuming I never let CPU temps go above 40?

Can I push my RAM speeds? What RAM would you recommend if I want to replace these crawling ones, with overclocking in mind of course (I run dual channel)?

I know this board is pretty sick of overclocking threads, but if you really hate OC threads, ignore this thread :angel:

run cpu-z to verify the actual clock speeds.
Can I push my RAM speeds? What RAM would you recommend if I want to replace these crawling ones, with overclocking in mind of course (I run dual channel)?