page fault in non page area

By Chamo1948
Jul 1, 2007
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hi guys, this is my first post in this site and am hoping to get a good reply first up.
    I have been using my puter for the past six months and all of a sudden I am getting the ol blue screen with this page fault error. I thought that at first it was the HDD may be playing up so I put in a brand new HDD and formatted and started to load Windows XP Pro Media edition. I get partway through the instal and get the blue screen saying Page fault in non page area. So I follow the directions and restart the puter and wo and bhold up comes this POOL error before getting any futher with the instal. I am guessing that this must have something to do with the exsisting hardware in the puter because "new HDD and original discs for XP not causing problem. Memory, 1gig.
  2. raybay

raybay TechSpot Evangelist Posts: 10,716   +6

First, there is a great deal of info available on www.microsoft.com knowledgebase articles related to this issue, and many, many more available with a Google search.
    Usually, in my experience, the BSOD is caused by driver errors that are repairable with a replacement or change of drivers... related to video graphics But it can be any sort of hardware error... memory failure is a common cause. Loose cables and device sockets also.
    I would start with removing and reseating all devices. Then run Memtest86, the free memory tester, for four hours or 7 passes, which ever takes longer.
    Take a look at all the items in your Device Management (Control Panel -> system -> Hardware -> Device Manager) to see if you have any red or yellow flags.
    Also, take a look at the event list in Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Computer Management -> System Tools -> Event Viewer to scroll down through to see what is labeled and when it started.
  3. Chamo1948

Chamo1948 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

Could try all BUT