PC building: compatibility?

Hello guys,

First of, my apologies for the possibly dumb question, but I'm totally new to the whole building your own pc, yet I wanted to make myself a pretty nice pc.
Since I have no idea how to really see if everything is compatible, and would probably screw up, I wanted to ask you people for a little help on my future pc.

These are the things that I wanted to buy:
  • Seagate Barracuda LP ST32000542AS, 2TB X3
  • Dell Ultrasharp U2711 X3
  • Windows 7 (64-bit)
  • Cooler Master CM 690 II (If you guys know a nice case, I'd be glad to see that too though.)
  • Intel Core i7 990X Extreme Edition Boxed
  • Sony Optiarc BD-5300S Blu-ray Disc Writer
  • Cooler Master Silent Pro M1000 (1000W)
  • Intel 510 250GB (250GB SSD, SATA-600) X2
  • Corsair Dominator CMP24GX3M6A1333C9
  • Apacer AE700 Cardreader
  • MSI X58A-GD65 (1366, X58, ATX, 6x DDR3, 2x PCI, 5x PCI-e)
  • Point of View GeForce GTX 590 (GeForce GTX 590, 607MHz with 3GB GDDR5) X2

I'm building this pc to run games like Crysis 2, The Witcher 2, and future games at max settings, but I'm not sure if this pc will do, and if it is compatible.
If there is any site where I can easily check this, I'll do it myself, but I'm a complete noob at this.

Thanks for your time,
- Loyal

Hi Loyal and welcome to Techspot. Think we can safely assume that you have a liberal budget for this build based on the components you've selected. I'm sure there are plenty of folks that will offer suggestions on your proposed build.

I can tell you for sure that you will like the Dell U2711 but if you plan on using three you might want to consider an AMD graphics solutions. Also, would help to know if you intend to overclock this system.

Thanks for the quick reply!