PC crashing, is it my PSU?

Status
Not open for further replies.

A-thru-Z

Ok...I'm pretty new to the ins and outs of PSUs so I will try and give as many details as I possibly can about my PC and what I have tried so far to sort out my problem...please bare with me.
Firstly, my PC runs fine, it is only when I play a game that the black screen loop sound problem happens...it is not even a power sucking game like warcraft or CoD2, it's Medal of Honor spearhead which is about 4 years old now...anyway, my specs..
INTEL PENTIUM 4 560 3.6GHZ 800mhz FSB/HTT/1MB
2048 MB DDR400 PC3200 (2x1GB)
ASUS P5P800: DUAL DDR, S-ATA, 8X AGP, 5 PCI, ATA133 ETC
SATA 250 GB HARD DISK @ 7200rpm 16mb cache
256MB GEFORCE 6600 8X AGP + DVI + TV-OUT
SoundBlaster Audigy 4 7.1 Pro + External Kit (breakout box)
550w PSU (warranty replacement for a 500w that died) generic

now a little history...
I bought this PC about a year ago and it came in quite a small case that I was not happy with as it was locking up on startup because the case was overheating, took the side off and it started up fine...I had the choice of sending the whole thing back (and waiting another 3 months because the company that built the thing couldn't work out why it was crashing in the first place) and get a new case or buy one myself and do it...so I bought this (my link) Thermaltake case and installed everything.
It worked fine for about 3 weeks until I started getting random crashes when playing Medal of Honor.
After many many hours of research I have unistalled/reinstalled the game, did a format, used driver clean pro, reset my cmos, updated my bios, ran memtest for 11 hours, optimised my airflow by taping back all possible cables that would disturb it...I've cried, shouted and bored my girlfriend to almost suicide with my rantings about what I've done.