PC Starts - no motherboard actions

Status
Not open for further replies.

agi_shi

Hello all! I built myself a new pc and am having some problems. This problem has happened a lot lately.

This is what happens when I turn on my pc and everything works:
-Fans spin up.
-Leds light up.
-Graphics card goes to 100% and then to 5% (note: this is normal).

But this is what has been happening lately:
-Fans spin up.
-No leds (on front of PC - no leds for HDD activity, etc - don't light up)
-Graphics card goes to 100% and stays there.
-Monitor recieves no signal (as if it isn't connected).
-No POST
-Nothing.

I have to hardware restart for the pc to start up correctly and run. Note that it is 100% stable when in Windows, it's just that sometimes it doesn't start...

What could be the cause of this? Motherboard? PSU (although, the fans DO run...)? CPU? Ram?

I'm so worried right now, this is my first build.. I appreciate all your help!

We would need some system information prior to making any kind of valid assessment.

From what you've described, it sounds like a power problem.. be it an underrated or overloaded power supply, or a possibly incompatible power supply.

Antec had a few lines of even upper-end PSU's that had an incompatibility with certain Abit/Asus mainboards (even their NEO line..) but it's been long fixed/addressed. The problem manifested itself near identical to what you have described. It had something to do with one of the lower voltage rails being unusually taxed by certain series mainboards at power-on, which caused an unforseen condition for the 12v rail to handle. The result was just like your situation- no cold-power up working, but hard resets eventually could bypass the circuitry issue.

If you have a spare PSU, you might want to try that to see if the problem goes away..and if so, RMA your PSU in hopes of getting a newer revision.

More system info though (PSU, motherboard, case, cpu, mem, etc.etc.) would be helpful also.

Good Point

Sharkfood said: