PCI Card doesnt turno on computer

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, Im new in this things. Please excuse my english.

I get a PCI Card today for installing on the MB.

Is a 5 USB ports card . the manufacturer is ENCORE electronics and the product is ENLUSB2-5PCI-BR.

The problem is that i cant turn on the computer with the Card inserted in the slot, no sign, no sound, no image, nothing.
When i remove it, then turn on normally.

What can i do? Thanks for your time.

SEP

My guess would be that either you don't have enough power from your PSU to juice up the entire system, or that your motherboard chipset drivers are out of date.

What make/model is your motherboard, CPU, ram, PSU?
What other PCI devices do you have?
What version of windows?

Welcome to Techspot by the way!

PedroLulu said:
Hi, Im new in this things. Please excuse my english.

I get a PCI Card today for installing on the MB.

Is a 5 USB ports card . the manufacturer is ENCORE electronics and the product is ENLUSB2-5PCI-BR.

The problem is that i cant turn on the computer with the Card inserted in the slot, no sign, no sound, no image, nothing.
When i remove it, then turn on normally.

What can i do? Thanks for your time.

SEP

Replace the card with another brand. It's either defective or not compatible with your system. No matter how your system it set up, it should NEVER do that.

Thanks for your answers. You guys are so fast, and i apreciate that. thanks a Lot.

Well, i have OS windows 2000 Pro, 2 Hard drives (10 GB & 80 GB). CDRW 52x, 164 Mb RAM, 3 1/2 " floppy, 56K modem, but i dont know the manufacturer of the MoBo, may be is PC Chips. Only has one PCI SLot and one Isa Slot (no more).

I tried to manage the Bios, thinking the problem was there, but i think no.

See ya.

Does the system get power? If the power LED doesn't turn on, then you have a short or an overload somewhere. Better replace that PCI card.