Php pages won't work on my web site

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'll warn you in advance, I am a VERY green linux newbie so please word you responses in terms a third grader would understand. ;)

I have some php scripts that I want to use on my web server. When I attempt to run them they all give the same basic error message that is similar to this one:

Warning: main(functions/ical_parser.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in .. directory... on line 12

Fatal error: main(): Failed opening required functions/ical_parser.php (include_path=..directory/pear/) in ... directory... on line 12

(I omitted the directories because this posting program keeps telling me I have to remove my URLs before I can post. This was the only way I could get it to accept it. Sorry...)

I assumed that this meant that PEAR was not installed. Every script I have tried to run has ended with an error that talks about PEAR. IF I AM WRONG PLEASE LET ME KNOW! Not knowing anything about PEAR I did two things. First I tried running the pear web installer called go-pear.php. This worked well, for a minute or so. The output of the install job is printed below:

Starting installation ...
Loading zlib: ok
Downloading package: PEAR-stable......ok
Downloading package: Archive_Tar-stable....ok
Downloading package: Console_Getopt-stable....ok
Downloading package: XML_RPC-stable....ok
Downloading package: Pager............ok
Downloading package: HTML_Template_IT....ok
Downloading package: Net_UserAgent_Detect....ok
Downloading package: PEAR_Frontend_Web....ok
Bootstrapping: PEAR...................(remote) ok
Bootstrapping: Archive_Tar............(remote) ok
Bootstrapping: Console_Getopt.........(remote) ok
Downloading package: DB...............ok
Downloading package: Net_Socket.......ok
Downloading package: Net_SMTP.........ok
Downloading package: Mail.............ok
Downloading package: XML_Parser.......ok
Downloading package: PHPUnit..........ok