TechSpot

Playing Guildwars simultaneously on the same lan.

By piercemyers
Jun 7, 2005
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hey everyone,

I've only recently got a decent pc setup, and i'm a complete noob to online gaming.

Just wondering, if i get a game (i'm thinking about guildwars) will i be able to play on two different computers set up on a home network at the same time. I know it needs a cd key, so will i need two copies to do this?

Thanks.
  2. LNCPapa

LNCPapa TS Special Forces Posts: 4,308   +265

You'll need two copies and will probably have no problems using both from the same lan even if only 1 IP is visible to the outside world. Most games don't limit you to 1 instance per IP anymore, but back in the day when they did it was a real headache.
  3. piercemyers

piercemyers TS Rookie Topic Starter

Oh, alright. bit disappointed i have to shell out twice, but i guess thats the way it has to be.

Just wondering how the whole thing works though, do you have to key in your cd-key at startup, or do you have to register it or something?
  4. Molson316

Molson316 TS Rookie Posts: 80

Just install the game on the 2 machines, and when it askes for the cd key during install, just type it in. Load the game on the 2 PC's, and select multiplayer game>LAN and have one machine host the game, and the other machine will then go and join that game.
  5. AtK SpAdE

AtK SpAdE TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 1,846

I would have to disagree with you molson. you cant install it on two mahines. After i installed Guild Wars on my PC, i thought what the heck, and attempted to install it on another machine. I could not even get past the setup, as soon as it asked for the CD key, i put it in and it shut down. So then i unplugged that machine from the internet and tried agian, it then said i needed to be connected to install. I would buy two copies of the game.

Sean
  6. Molson316

Molson316 TS Rookie Posts: 80