Please Help Windows Boot Problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

LilYahiko

Okay, so I'm a total newbie at the build a computer thing, unfortunately that's how I was set up when my bro bought two new rigs for himself and I from the company MSI after reading about their good quality stuff in PC World. Anyhow, we got the new computer towers, and I went to go import my old Hard Drive into the new one. Sufficient to say, this was about 3 weeks ago (that after the fact that my ***** bro didn't order graphics cards with my new comp and we had a whole big todo about that, but that's not the point).

We've tried plugging my newer Hitachi 160GB HD into the new computer with my operating system and all my old information still on it, but it always goes to the windows boot up screen and asks me if I want to boot up with the many versions of safe mode, my old configurations that last worked, or normally. I've tried all of this and it doesn't want to work.

Yet another mystery is that we tried hooking up an older 40gb hd with Windows ME installed on it, and it worked perfectly. That is to say, it went through the whole "installing new hardware" automatically and that operating system works fine! (My only other problem now is that my CD Drive isn't working right). It's like an endless sea of problems, but my main concern is my newer 160gb HD with the Windows XP OS on it. I want to still use it but it's not booting up right like the older 40gb with the ME on it did. What's wrong with my newer HD?

Note: When I had the Newer 160HD in the new computer, I'd gone into the user profile of the boot-up sequence and it said that I didn't have enough disks to make install a sufficient raid, or something like that. Hope that helps some o-o;.

XP that was installed on one pc WILL NOT WORK on another pc unless both pc's have identical mobo's!!!!