post error, beep codes, shuts itself down, please help

By *Lori*
Sep 24, 2005
  1. This is my first attemt at building a computer

I turn the power on and all the lights and fans turn on (cpu,powersupply,graphiccard) but i get a post code that says either 83 or 84, gives me beep code (one long, two short), then shuts itself off, and there is no connectivity to my monitor. I've made sure that everything was plugged in right, tried disconnecting everything nonessential, and tried setting it up outside the case. there is one thing that I've noticed, if I disconnect the power to the motherboard on the top left corner, I still get the same post and beep, but it doesn't shut itself off.
    ok, now for my confessions of stupidity. The first time i put the motherboard in, i didn't use spacers. and for the longest time my computer was on 230 (back before my computer would shut itself off after the post and beep)
    yeah, i know that's pretty bad. this is my first time building a computer. any help is greatly appreciated :)

these are the parts i'm using:
    an abit an8 motherboard
    abit radeon rx600 pro-guru graphics card
    an amd athlon 64 3000+ processor
    1gig memory
    230 GB harddrive (i know, it'ts a little much)
  2. pkroks

pkroks TS Rookie Posts: 259

your problem could be related to many things. i think it may be that you have a faulty graphics card or a faulty power supply.. if you can try and swap them out with other parts and see wat happens when you boot. if it still happens after that try changing the ram or just leaving one stick of ram in the first slot. if it works then you may have a faulty stick of ram. (unless you have one stick of 1gb ram in which case all the ram could be faulty)... i think the best thing to do would be to swap out parts as you go along, that way you can eliminate parts..
  3. SOcRatEs

SOcRatEs TechSpot Paladin Posts: 966

Hello! Welcome to TechSpot

I believe this has an award bios

The Award bios post beep code is: