Problem booting

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi I'm a newbie here.
5 year old desktop computer Win XP Pro

Normally to start this computer it is Power on at the wall then press button on front panel.

Last few mornings its gone like this and getting steadily worse:

Power on at wall - front button - starts to boot, may get as far as Welcome screen - then turns itself off
Press front button - nothing
Power off at wall - wait - power on at wall - immediately starts to boot (ie no front button) but only progresses for typically 5 seconds (sometimes 15 secs) before shutting down.
Do this umpteen times - maybe 5-10 mins and eventually the boot completes.
Once booted runs fine all day.
Once it's been running, if I shut it down and reboot, it comes straight back up - no problems.

Any ideas?

now when it shuts down, does that mean it doesn't display your bios screen, check the ram, etc.
have you ever gotten checksum errors while installing programs? what is your cpu? have you looked
at your components? is there alot of dust on your mobo?
what i get is that your pc is rebooting during the windows xp loading screen. but you say no fron't button.
maybe you have a faulty switch? which i would say is rare... damn man.. need more specifics
my computer has the complete opposite as yours, it will only boot after "cooling off" for an hour or so.
seems quite odd to have a faulty power supply to not be relaying that power to your comp. this is
just filler until someone more qualified can reply..

Will the computer stay on if windows xp doesn't boot ? like go into the bios menu does it stay on if you do that ? if it stays on you can try to boot into safe mode to.

now when it shuts down, does that mean it doesn't display your bios screen, check the ram, etc.
Most of the time doesn't get to the BIOS screen - maybe just turns lights on keyboard on and then dies.
have you ever gotten checksum errors while installing programs?
No.
what is your cpu?
2xPentium 4 2.6GHz