Problem installing windows on new rig

Status
Not open for further replies.
I recently purchased a new mobo, dual core cpu, video card and power supply in an effort to massively boost performance. The physical installation went smoothly, and everything switched on without a single hitch. The first time I switched my system on, it of course showed the mobo manufacturer screen. After switching the cd-rom to being first on the boot sequence (installing Windows XP home), I let it do it's thing and begin to format the hard drive and install windows.

It took quite some time to start booting from the cd, much longer than I had ever seen it take in the past (Technically I'm a noob at this, but I've still done a little bit). After formatting, my system rebooted, and I was expecting to see the windows xp installation screen, to go about setting up user name, time zones, and so on. Instead, it took a very long time to do anything, then booted from the cd again, prompting a format yet again.

It seems it's stuck in an endless loop and it just refuses to actually install windows after the files have been put on the hard drive.

If any of what I just said makes any sense whatsoever, I would greatly appreciate the help.

Btw, these are the specs of my computer (as far as I know, remember, noobie)

AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3800+
Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe mobo
Asus 7600 GS 512 mb GPU
1 GB PC2700 DDR-RAM (two sticks of 512, from when the computer was once a dell machine, *audible gasp!*)
600w power supply
IDE-cabled CD-r/rw, and dvd-r/rw
80 gig IDE Hard drive (the one I'm trying to install windows on)
300 gig SATA hard drive.

If I missed anything important, let me know.

Tried that actually. So then, after taking a bloody long time, instead of booting from the cd it says "Please reboot and select proper boot device, or insert proper boot media into selected boot device and hit a key".