problem with connecting 2 pc via lan cable

Status
Not open for further replies.

bigbang

so basically i want to connect 2 pc together by using the lan cable to play games by lan.

so this is what i know. i connect the pc's by the cable. then i set the ip settings.
ip address pc1 - 192.168.0.1
ip address pc2 - 192.168.0.2

then the subnet mask is left alone n the default gateway the same for both pc which is 192.168.0.0 (i even tried to change it to some other numbers like 222.222.2.2 but still no success)

then the preferred n alternate dns server i just leave it blank. so can anyone tell me whats wrong...

owhhhhh... so i kinda know whats the problem now. its the cables.. so how can i tell which is crossover and which is not?? they look just the same..

sorry im new to networking and dont know much.. heh.. thnks for the reply..

most of the time the cables are coloured blue for normal ethernet and yellow or red for crossovers. But sometimes you can get different coloured cables so its a bit misleading..

Check the cable itself, there could be some writing to help you figure out whats what on it.

oh ok coz the cable that i used before was white... so i'll have to get a crossover then.. thnks again n maybe n hopefully i'll not get problems with a crosssover cable =)

Connect 2 pcs via ethernet cross over cable but....

it does not work yet....and I get a bit lost in firewall settings, IP settings,DNS....
Help HElp

bigbang said:
so basically i want to connect 2 pc together by using the lan cable to play games by lan.

so this is what i know. i connect the pc's by the cable. then i set the ip settings.
ip address pc1 - 192.168.0.1
ip address pc2 - 192.168.0.2

then the subnet mask is left alone n the default gateway the same for both pc which is 192.168.0.0 (i even tried to change it to some other numbers like 222.222.2.2 but still no success)

then the preferred n alternate dns server i just leave it blank. so can anyone tell me whats wrong...