problem with NTFS.SYS

Status
Not open for further replies.
Okay this is my first time here but i have a problem and i don't know what to do. My computer keeps going to a blue screen. It say something about stop 0x00000024 and then a lot of more numbers. After that it say Ntfs.sys - Address F77019b8 base at f76E4000. It also says something about doing a system dump.

I need help to get this problem fixed. I haven't had this computer not even a month yet. I was running windows xp home but i just upgraded to professional. Even before i upgraded it was shutting down and starting over. I have taken it to the place where i bought it from and they say there is nothing wrong with it. But i know that isn't right. If anyone can help me please help!

Steph

Steph;
Welcome to Techspot. Did you load XP Pro on top of Home or do a clean install ? What is actually running or exactly what are you doing when you get this error message? That information along with your profile filled out will go a long way in helping you get your problem solved.
I am surprised by your Manufacturer response .Where you able to let them actually see the error message?

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

It sounds to me that you might have a dodgy power supply unit hence the spontanious shutting down and restarting. What ever the case I would strongly reccomend that you take your computer back to the shop and insist that they sort it out.

If after doing that they still say it`s fine then ask them to come and see your computer running in your home as it is possible that your home mains supply is at fault. If that`s the case I would suggest you purchase antisurge protection which will cost around £20 to £30.

The reason I am saying this to you is because I had the same problem with my computer eventualy the psu went bang got a new psu and anti surge it`s been fine since.

Hope this helps Regards howard
gentleman.gif

About my problem