Problem with virusburst malware

Status
Not open for further replies.

daddystabz

I made the mistake of clicking a link the other night and now I am infected with virusburst malware on the computer I use at my mother's house. It is a real pain.

I have some experience with some of you from a problem I had on another computer you all helped me fix recently so knowing some of your procedures, I ran scans with ad-aware, AVG, and Spybot S&D. I eliminated all they found but I still have the Critical System Error flashing thingy in my taskbar that is the trademark of this malware infection.

I am going to follow the instructions that I saw in another thread that you all gave someone else that suffered with this issue. Is there a special part of the forum I'm supposed to post my HJT log to?

Also: one other issue. When I go to boot into safe mode under normal user....I noticed in my control panel that the normal user on this machine that I use all the time is listed also as the system admin. Would this be a problem with the steps I read on another thread to remove this malware? Should I make or try to use a different user account instead?

Thanks in advance!

I already ran all those things you mentioned.

Besides what I described above I also turned off system restore, opened up all hidden system files for viewing and tried booting into safe mode. I was unable to boot into safe mode...it keeps looping over and over again to the menu where you can select which mode. I went ahead and went into the machine in normal mode.

I then went to add/remove programs and looked to remove WinMediaCodec. There was nothing listed there associated with it.

Then I looked for isamini.exe in the running processes but did not see it listed there and promptly exited out of task manager.

Next I ran HijackThis! and scanned. I was able to find
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {202a961f-23ae-42b1-9505-ffe3c818d717} -
C:\Program Files\WinMediaCodec\isaddon.dll