Problems overclocking E2140

Status
Not open for further replies.
hi all, im having a problem overclocking my new E2140 i can only get the FSB to 330 and no futher ive tryed uping all voltages and tryed different ram speeds but with no look... i am new to overclocking and clock a pentium d from 3gig to 4.3gig buy just uping the fsb. seeing different results far beyond my effort seems to think im missing something??

my system:
E2140 standard hsf..upgrading to artic frezzer 7 pro soon
Gigabite p35 ds3r motherborad
2gig ocz platinum at 8oo megaherts
msi 8600gts overclocked

thanks for any help in advance!!

The 2140 only has an 8x multiplyer, you'd have been better off with a 2180.

330 x 8 = 2640 mhz

330 x 10 = 3300MHz

You can't really be sure that each E-2040, E-2060, E-2080 is as much overclockable as the other one of the same type. Actually it's luck, what you get.

E-2040 etc. processor chips aren't produced to become E-2040. The are produced to become any E-6xxx core duo processor with conroe core. If a core that leaves the production is a good one or not is kind of random. There is a margin.

This is how it probably works at intel:

After production those unpackaged cpu cores get tested and sorted in groups depending on the results of those test. There are those with good electrical values fully functional, those with not so good electrical values that are also fully functional ... and then there are those cores with good or not so good electrical values that have an error, like one broken cell in the cache.

The cores with the best electrical values that were also performing all tests without errors get labeled as Intels top speed models, except the market doesn't need so many top models, then they are just labeled as something cheaper and get a lower max multiplicator burnt in.
The cores that are functional, but have worse electrical test results get labeled as some slower E-6xxx and set lower max-multiplicator.