Question about AVG & ZoneAlarm

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a virus novice and I hope someone can help me answer these questions.

I recently was told by some friends that AVG Anti-Virus was a more effective program than any other virus software, and it was FREE.

I currently have Zonealarm Security Suite and run it and PestPatrol in the background at all times.

Out of curiosity, I downloaded AVG yesterday. I did not install AVG shield or the email protection. I didn't think I had it 'active' in my system. Today, I log in and AVG is downloading 'updates'. Immediately after the update finished, AVG ran a scan, and found 17 viruses!

Some of these are ones which have been mentioned on your forum, which is why I am posting this here. I have no idea how to save the log from the Test Results from AVG's scan, but all of the ones found say:
Virus identified Java/ByteVerify Status: Infected, Embedded Object

Because I have the free version, it does not delete the files, but I located them in my Documents and Settings\Owner\ApplicationData\Sun\Java\Deployment\cache\javipi\v1.0\jar\ directory.

Most are Trojans and I verified their locations in my directory.

I immediately ran Zonealarm's Virus scan after updating. It found 0 viruses.

I then went to your note about virus removal and I followed the preliminary instructions (look for the list of exe files in Windows Taskmanager). None of those files were present, so I didn't keep going with it.

One question I have is this; if these files are all in fact trojans, why do I not have any symptoms of infection? All the extensions on the files are either .idx or .zip. ie., c:\documents and settings\owner\application data\sun\java\deployment\cache\javapi\v1.0\jar\ar.jar-6a595dd3-78dbeb29.zip:\BlackBox.class

2. Why does ZoneAlarm pick up on these viruses? Is AVG better at virus detection... or are these in fact not viruses at all?