Questions: DSL broadband routing...

Status
Not open for further replies.

eddy05

I need help on DSL broadband routing...

I've 2 computers, and I wished to let both computers use the same ADSL internet connection. I've heard of "routing" the 2 computers together.

What exactly is "routing?"

Is there a way to "route" my 2 computers together?

What additional hardwares do I need?

How do I "route" my computers together?

Is there additional Software required?

If anyone has an answer, please reply to this thread. If not, never mind, coz even after a few yrs of exposure to the internet, it's my first time coming across this thingy :D

Routing

Hey eddy05,

What you need is called a Router. There are several on the market. A company called Linksys makes several models. Any office depot store and even Radio Shack sell them.

Here is basically what you do. To avoid being charged for more than one connection you use a router. You install your DSL modem first then put the router inline with the modem. In other words, follow the wire from the wall to the DSL modem then to the router. The router will have several "PORTS". Then from the router to the computer or computers. (common routers have 4 ports)

When you set up your router, you put your computer IP address into the router, then configure EACH computer with an IP address for the router.

Then VOA-LA you are on your way.

The only thing your ISP will see is the IP address of the router ( which is now the IP they gave you) they will not see that you have more than one computer connected to their network.

That is just the basics. If you need more info, just ask

Boeingfixer is exactly right. The router is used for being able to network alot of computers together to all use the internet under one IP address instead of being charged with each individual address. Then under the router there are subIP addresses you can set for each computer plugged into the router ports.