TechSpot

Random and annoying freezes, BSOD's and multicoloured lines on screen

By jazz2479
Dec 1, 2009
  1. Hello everyone, i am a new member to this community and i have a huge problem which hopefully i can get solved with u guys help.

    Ok, here goes. i build this system in May 2009 and it ran amazing untill a few days back(month of november). I woke up one day an i move the mouse but nothing shows. The screen had gone into power saver and none of the light keys work on the keyboard. I restarted it and it ran fr abt an hour when suddenly poof!!! BSOD. But before i could record wht it said, the message "dumping memory" started counting up to 100% and it restarted. SInce then these things keep happening. I wake up, its frozen, i restart , then BSOD, then restart again and it runs fine till evening and suddenly starts locking up again. Lately these multicoloured horizontal lines have started showing up and the screen freezes on that. Other than that random BSOD pops up and restarts but i get a glimpse of the msg which is different most of the time. Ex "somthing abt page fault in non paged area or kmod exception not handeled or irql not handled, then stop 0000007e somthing"...This gets incredibly annoying whe one is doing work or watching movies or playing games.

    I am perplexed because before a week back, the system would run faultlessly. Was is my fault keeping it going fr a few nights without rest.

    I did mem86 test and it showed no errors to ram but i did just one pass at it. The i tried 3D mark and FurMark as gpu stress testers and they worked fine.

    I did prime 96. The first time it ran, it gave me errors immidiately but when i ran it after that, its been working every single time. But i hvnt tested it through the night.

    I hope oyou guyz can help me out. I even cleaned the system and it didnt help.
     
  2. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,168   +37

    Don't worry about "not giving it a rest." Many people leave their PCs on 24/7.

    What errors did Prime 95 show?

    Also, those horizontal lines seem suspect as to video card issues. Is the fan working on your card?
     
  3. jazz2479

    jazz2479 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    here is wht i got...

    Hey thnx fr the reply..

    Yes the fan is working well...I thot it would be a video card issue sso i increased the fan speed to 80%..temps around 39-41...

    Prime '95' says this...

    [Fri Nov 27 10:52:26 2009]
    FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.4819417329, expected less than 0.4
    Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.
    FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4
    Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.
    FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.4999988668, expected less than 0.4
    Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.

    then pc restarted....
     
  4. jazz2479

    jazz2479 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    and..

    I logged back in and restarted prime...the test kept going well..and has been going well since.if it was a hardware issue shuldnt it have failed everytime...hmm..i did another test and here are the results of memory test i think...

    [Fri Nov 27 11:11:15 2009]
    Self-test 1024K passed!
    Self-test 1024K passed!
    Self-test 1024K passed!
    Self-test 1024K passed!
    [Fri Nov 27 11:26:50 2009]
    Self-test 8K passed!
    Self-test 8K passed!
    Self-test 8K passed!
    Self-test 8K passed!
    [Fri Nov 27 11:43:37 2009]
    Self-test 10K passed!
    Self-test 10K passed!
    Self-test 10K passed!
    Self-test 10K passed!
    [Fri Nov 27 11:58:38 2009]
    Self-test 896K passed!
    Self-test 896K passed!
    Self-test 896K passed!
    Self-test 896K passed!
    [Fri Nov 27 12:14:01 2009]
    Self-test 768K passed!
    Self-test 768K passed!
    Self-test 768K passed!
    Self-test 768K passed!
    [Fri Nov 27 12:29:08 2009]
    Self-test 12K passed!
    Self-test 12K passed!
    Self-test 12K passed!
    Self-test 12K passed!
    [Fri Nov 27 12:44:08 2009]
    Self-test 14K passed!
    Self-test 14K passed!
    Self-test 14K passed!
    [Fri Nov 27 12:49:18 2009]
    AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 940 Processor
    CPU speed: 3000.17 MHz, 4 cores
    CPU features: RDTSC, CMOV, Prefetch, 3DNow!, MMX, SSE, SSE2
    L1 cache size: 64 KB
    L2 cache size: 512 KB
    L1 cache line size: 64 bytes
    L2 cache line size: 64 bytes
    L1 TLBS: 48
    L2 TLBS: 512
    Prime95 64-bit version 25.8, RdtscTiming=1
    Best time for 768K FFT length: 14.816 ms.
    Best time for 896K FFT length: 17.732 ms.
    Best time for 1024K FFT length: 20.112 ms.
    Best time for 1280K FFT length: 24.895 ms.
    Best time for 1536K FFT length: 30.844 ms.
    Best time for 1792K FFT length: 37.017 ms.
    Best time for 2048K FFT length: 42.805 ms.
    Best time for 2560K FFT length: 54.760 ms.
    Best time for 3072K FFT length: 66.646 ms.
    Best time for 3584K FFT length: 79.688 ms.
    Best time for 4096K FFT length: 94.460 ms.
    Best time for 5120K FFT length: 123.785 ms.
    Best time for 6144K FFT length: 147.758 ms.
    Best time for 7168K FFT length: 180.167 ms.
    Best time for 8192K FFT length: 208.285 ms.
    Timing FFTs using 2 threads.
    Best time for 768K FFT length: 9.810 ms.
    Best time for 896K FFT length: 12.431 ms.
    Best time for 1024K FFT length: 14.416 ms.
    Best time for 1280K FFT length: 17.825 ms.
    Best time for 1536K FFT length: 21.938 ms.
    Best time for 1792K FFT length: 25.842 ms.
    Best time for 2048K FFT length: 29.564 ms.
    Best time for 2560K FFT length: 39.786 ms.
    Best time for 3072K FFT length: 46.773 ms.
    Best time for 3584K FFT length: 57.339 ms.
    Best time for 4096K FFT length: 66.499 ms.
    Best time for 5120K FFT length: 84.954 ms.
    Best time for 6144K FFT length: 99.814 ms.
    Best time for 7168K FFT length: 142.398 ms.
    Best time for 8192K FFT length: 135.796 ms.
    Timing FFTs using 3 threads.
    Best time for 768K FFT length: 6.774 ms.
    Best time for 896K FFT length: 10.977 ms.
    Best time for 1024K FFT length: 12.484 ms.
    Best time for 1280K FFT length: 15.170 ms.
    Best time for 1536K FFT length: 18.144 ms.
    Best time for 1792K FFT length: 19.775 ms.
    Best time for 2048K FFT length: 23.756 ms.
    Best time for 2560K FFT length: 36.060 ms.
    Best time for 3072K FFT length: 39.892 ms.
    Best time for 3584K FFT length: 48.355 ms.
    Best time for 4096K FFT length: 53.973 ms.
    Best time for 5120K FFT length: 71.583 ms.
    Best time for 6144K FFT length: 87.622 ms.
    Best time for 7168K FFT length: 91.680 ms.
    Best time for 8192K FFT length: 102.351 ms.
    Timing FFTs using 4 threads.
    Best time for 768K FFT length: 6.667 ms.
    Best time for 896K FFT length: 10.524 ms.
    Best time for 1024K FFT length: 11.748 ms.
    Best time for 1280K FFT length: 14.208 ms.
    Best time for 1536K FFT length: 16.224 ms.
    Best time for 1792K FFT length: 20.733 ms.
    Best time for 2048K FFT length: 23.642 ms.
    Best time for 2560K FFT length: 33.956 ms.
    Best time for 3072K FFT length: 39.000 ms.
    Best time for 3584K FFT length: 45.214 ms.
    Best time for 4096K FFT length: 78.893 ms.
    Best time for 5120K FFT length: 65.394 ms.
    Best time for 6144K FFT length: 68.480 ms.
    Best time for 7168K FFT length: 81.013 ms.
    Best time for 8192K FFT length: 107.708 ms.
    Best time for 58 bit trial factors: 2.356 ms.
    Best time for 59 bit trial factors: 2.414 ms.
    Best time for 60 bit trial factors: 2.414 ms.
    Best time for 61 bit trial factors: 2.621 ms.
    Best time for 62 bit trial factors: 2.673 ms.
    Best time for 63 bit trial factors: 3.176 ms.
    Best time for 64 bit trial factors: 3.571 ms.
    Best time for 65 bit trial factors: 4.434 ms.
    Best time for 66 bit trial factors: 5.304 ms.
    Best time for 67 bit trial factors: 5.257 ms.
     
  5. jazz2479

    jazz2479 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    and...

    I think i shuld have mentioned my pc specs as they might help...

    cpu - phenom II x4 940 BE
    gpu - sapphire hd 4870
    psu - corsair tx750
    ram - 2x2gb g Skill at 800 timings default at 5-5-5-15
    hdd - WD regular 320 gb hdd

    had been going well untill these errors showd up...:(
     
  6. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,168   +37

    Nice powwer supply and nice cpu. G.Skill makes some very nice RAM. Can you tell us if the BSODs occur when you are doing specific things or are they random? We need your five latest minidumps.

    How to find your Minidump Files:

    My Computer > C Drive > Windows Folder > Minidump Folder > Minidump Files.

    It is these files that we need (not the folder). Attach to your next post the five most recent dumps. Notice the Manage Attachments button at the bottom when you go to post the next time. You can Zip up to five files per Zip. Please do us a favor and don’t Zip each one individually.
     
  7. jazz2479

    jazz2479 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    minidump

    HI thnx for you comments. The crashes are pretty much random...sometime when im on IE or itunes...crashed while playing cs once...umm..dats all i can think off...crashes happen on other pgms as well...juss can think of all the ones rite now...im attaching the minidumps..
    hope it helps!!



    ps...it even crashed while i ran avg virus scan...but these crashes are not guarenteed with all programs...sometimes they happpen other times not at all....

    im trying to access minidump files but it wont let me...need ownership or admin..pleez help me get over this...
     
  8. jazz2479

    jazz2479 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    nvm i did it..here they are
     
  9. jazz2479

    jazz2479 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    sorry...here they are
     
  10. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,168   +37

    I read five of your most recent minidumps and four simply cited Windows OS drivers and they are too general to be of much help.

    However, the remaining one cited the ATI driver atikmag.sys as the cause of your crashes. If you search for this driver on the net you will find a great number of people who have had issues with it especially under Vista.

    At this point I suggest doing the following...

    1. Download Driver Cleaner Pro or Driver Sweeper (both have free versions) to your desktop screen and install.

    2. Download the latest diver(s) for your video card but don't install them.

    3. Uninstall your video card drivers and reboot your PC into Safe Mode. Run Driver Cleaner Pro or Driver Sweeper. If it doesn't find any video card drivers that is quite okay.

    4. Reboot and install new video card drivers.
     
  11. jazz2479

    jazz2479 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Hey thnx for you suggestion. Im in the process of installing catalyst 9-11. Hope you are right and it fixes the problem.
    Its still strange that furmark and 3d mark ran fine.
     
     
  12. jazz2479

    jazz2479 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    its all installed...has been running fine for quite a few hours....i guess the issue was of the file u mentioned....thanx a lot for your help route44. Ur a life saver....

    nope not solved...was installing fraps...it installed properly...i tried to run...wouldnt start...uninstalled and reinstalled again and boom...bsod...first went away too fastto record the error...somthing like PTS error...i restart and again boom...Page fault in nonpaged area....ill post the next minidump....
     
  13. jazz2479

    jazz2479 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    here are the 2 latest dumps....
     
  14. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,168   +37

    I went back and I took another look at the minidumps that I read previously as well as your two latest. Your errors are as follows:

    0x0000001E: KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED
    The Windows kernel detected an illegal or unknown processor instruction. A Stop 0x1E condition can be caused by invalid memory and access violations similar to those that generate Stop 0xA errors. This default Windows error handler typically intercepts these problems if error-handling routines are not present in the code itself.

    0xA errors cab either be caused by hardware or drivers attempting a higher IRQ Level than they are designed for.

    Another error is 0x000000FC: ATTEMPTED_EXECUTE_OF_NOEXECUTE_MEMORY


    You also have error 0x00000050: PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA
    Requested data was not in memory. An invalid system memory address was referenced. Defective memory (including main memory, L2 RAM cache, video RAM) or incompatible software (including remote control and antivirus software) might cause this Stop message, as may other hardware problems (e.g., incorrect SCSI termination or a flawed PCI card).

    And three errors are 0x0000007F: UNEXPECTED_KERNEL_MODE_TRAP
    One of three types of problems occurred in kernel-mode: (1) Hardware failures. (2) Software problems. (3) A bound trap (i.e., a condition that the kernel is not allowed to have or intercept). Hardware failures are the most common cause and, of these, memory hardware failures are the most common.

    All have one thing in common: Memory. So...

    1, First find out if the memory you have installed is compatible/recommended by the manufacturer for your motherboard.

    2. Check the BIOS and see if the motherboard has set your memory voltage to your memory manufacturer's specs. If the voltage differs set it to the specs.

    3. Re-run Memtest but this time for the standard minimum of 7 Passes; if you do more so much the better.

    * Get back to us with the results.
     
  15. jazz2479

    jazz2479 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Here is wht i have...

    Memory required by mobo - Dual Channel DDR2 1333+

    RAM am using - DDR2-800 PC2 6400 4GB(2GB x 2)

    Timing and voltage required by RAM - 5-5-5-15, 1.8~1.9V

    Timing and voltage set at mobo - 5-5-5-15 and voltage i cant quite figure it out...where is it??
     
  16. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,168   +37

    What is the make and model of your motherboard and what is the make of your RAM, i.e. who is the manufacturer?

    Do you know how to access the BIOS?
     
  17. jazz2479

    jazz2479 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    mobo - gigabyte MA790X-UD4P
    cpu - phenom II x4 940 BE
    gpu - sapphire hd 4870
    psu - corsair tx750
    ram - 2x2gb g Skill at 800 timings default at 5-5-5-15
    [ P Q] F2-6400CL5S-2GBPQ / F2-6400CL5D-4GBPQ
    DDR2-800 PC2 6400 2GB(2GB x 1) / 4GB(2GB x 2)

    umm yea i did access the bios, it showed ddr2 voltage at 1.95..but im not sure that i read the right number...

    btw....i set prime 95 yesterday on the option to test the max RAM...ran for 7-8 straight hours without errors...is this a sign???

    pc has been running smoothly since the last crash at 3am ...could fraps be the issue..cause it wouldn't run and then suddenly the BSOD

    the memory voltage was set to - AUTO or when i try to go to manual it shows only 0.1 - 0.6 so im confused...

    but somewhere else it shows DDR3 voltage - 1.984
     
  18. jazz2479

    jazz2479 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    memtest

    update on memtest...

    the version 3.5 has a few bugs i think....when i put the ram in fr testing one at a time the test works well...but together the system restarts...

    now version 3.4 runs fine even when both sticks are inside...any comments??
     
  19. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,168   +37

    Those are increments for your memory voltage. Ease it on down to as close as you can get to 1.9 or just below and tell us if that brings stability.
     
  20. jazz2479

    jazz2479 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    the system has been stable since the ati driver reinstallation.....apart from just the one bsod...but now its totally gone...

    the part where it showed 1.98 v cannot be changed.....the increments however...if i try to go into manual and put in +0.1...wont it take the voltage over 2?...

    1.98 + 0.1 = 2.08...

    how do i ease it down...there seems to be no decrement icon...
     
  21. jazz2479

    jazz2479 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    started again

    ok now the crashes started again....i tried searching for more minidumps since last time....but none of them were recorded....

    The pc crashed once....i tried restarting and the pc started up buy the keyboard didnt light up and the monitor would show anything but blank screen....i kept tring and trying and trying but it wouldnt come on...once the bios came on but it wouldnt go on after that....i removed one RAM stick and now im able to type this message...but if ram was the problem, shuldnt it have shown on memtest 3.4 even after 3 full passes and also prime 95 RAN stable....i guess it might turnout on a gpu problem....please help...how does this problem start so suddenly...
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.