TechSpot

Random BSOD's and reboots.

By Barbarian
Nov 12, 2005
  1. Hi gyus,
    I expereince BSOD's and random reboots while I play games and after the reboot in Event viewer is this message :
    Event Type: Information
    Event Source: Save Dump
    Event Category: None
    Event ID: 1001
    Date: 12.11.2005 г.
    Time: 23:19:40
    User: N/A
    Computer: BARBARIAN
    Description:
    The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck. The bugcheck was: 0x1000008e (0xc0000005, 0xbfb4c9c8, 0x89ca9a4a, 0x00000000). A dump was saved in: C:\WINDOWS\Minidump\Mini111205-01.dmp.

    For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp .

    I had this thnig a while ago and than I changed my PSU with a Fortron 350W and averything ran fine.But recently I updated the drivers for my videocard, bought a Audigy 2 ZS and installed some modded driver.Than it started again and I tryed returning the old drivers for the VC and using the latest official drivers for the ZS but no luck so far.2 days ago I even ran MemTest-86 v.3.2 for 6 hours and there wasn't a single error so I rule out the ram as a possible cause for this.Any help will be wellcome.


    P.S.: I'm sending you the 8 latest dumps in 2 zip's
     
  2. snash00ter

    snash00ter TS Rookie Posts: 23

  3. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 2,044

    Hi Barbarian,

    Two of your minidumps are crashed at XP video driver routine which is a stable routine. It crashes unless it is faulty video ram. As you changed the video driver and run the memtest, I believe that the video card is faulty.

    Mini110605-03.dmp BugCheck 10000050, {e3240004, 0, bf86e273, 1}
    Mini110605-03.dmp Probably caused by : win32k.sys ( win32k!xxxLoadKeyboardLayoutEx+2e8 )

    Mini111105-01.dmp BugCheck 10000050, {e320f004, 0, bf8712e6, 1}
    Mini111105-01.dmp Probably caused by : win32k.sys ( win32k!xxxLoadKeyboardLayoutEx+2e8 )
     
  4. Barbarian

    Barbarian TS Rookie Topic Starter

    @snash00ter
    I always use Driver Cleaner when I update my VC Drivers.
    @cpc2004
    Now That's strange 'cos I have this card for 6-7 months and it passes all the 3d mark tests without any problems.I even tryed looping the tests 5 times and everything is fine.Is it possible this could be a problem from overclocking the VC?It's default freq's are 500/900 and I run it at 540/1G.
     
  5. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 2,044

    Hi Barbarian,

    OC the VIC may cause blue screen.
     
  6. Barbarian

    Barbarian TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Well I restored the default clock speeds and if the problem continues I'll post any new dump files.Thanks for the help man.
     
  7. Barbarian

    Barbarian TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Hy again after I restored the default settings it ran fine for 4 days and suddenly today it rebooted again.Here's the dump



    P.S.:can this be a problem with the mobo or any other hardware or is it just software?
     
  8. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 2,044

    Hi Barbarian,

    It crashes at nVidia Display Card Driver. Your version is almost the latest. Maybe it is unstable. Install a previous version such as version 77.72.
     
  9. Barbarian

    Barbarian TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Now I see that there are newer drivers I'll try them first thing tommorrow and see if it makes a difference.Thanks for the help again.
     
  10. Barbarian

    Barbarian TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Hi again.
    I reinstalled Windows 3 days ago and continued experienceing the random reboots again.Here are the dumps
     
  11. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 2,044

     
  12. Barbarian

    Barbarian TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Hi again,
    Recently I upgraded MB,CPU,Ram,videocard ans PSU and the problem was gone untill2-3 days ago.I run a fresh copy of WinXP SP2 and I've ran all the tests I thought about(Prime,Memtest,3dmark03,05,06,Super Pi).Sometimes it crashes and sometimes it doesn't.Also I installed the latest drivers for my hardware.
    Here are the latest minidumps
     
  13. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 2,044

    Hi,

    Probably it is caused by SYMTDI.sys (Norton Internet Security Filter) or faulty memory.

    Mini012406-01.dmp BugCheck 1000008E, {c0000005, 804ec223, b9a27a10, 0}
    Probably caused by : SYMTDI.SYS ( SYMTDI+1698a )

    Mini012506-01.dmp BugCheck 1000008E, {c0000005, 804ec223, b94679f0, 0}
    Probably caused by : SYMTDI.SYS ( SYMTDI+1698a )

    Mini012506-02.dmp BugCheck 1000008E, {c0000005, 804ec223, b90878b4, 0}
    Probably caused by : SYMTDI.SYS ( SYMTDI+16b0c )

    Mini012606-01.dmp BugCheck 100000BE, {89f943, 1b291025, f7b2ac08, a}
    Probably caused by : ks.sys ( ks!CKsPin::TransferKsIrp+77 )

    Mini012606-02.dmp BugCheck 1000008E, {c0000005, 804ec223, b917f8b4, 0}
    Probably caused by : SYMTDI.SYS ( SYMTDI+16b0c )

    Mini012706-01.dmp BugCheck 1000000A, {b4634c18, 5, 1, 80712a8a}
    Probably caused by : sptd.sys ( sptd+1be1 )

    Mini012706-02.dmp BugCheck 1000008E, {c0000005, 804ec223, b93979f0, 0}
    Probably caused by : SYMTDI.SYS ( SYMTDI+1698a )
     
  14. Barbarian

    Barbarian TS Rookie Topic Starter

    So what do you suggest to do in this case?As I said before I ran Memtest and after 30-40mins i didn't return any errors.Should I run Memtest for longer than 30mins or should I reinstall Norton Internet Security?
     
  15. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 2,044

    Hi,

    Forward your problem to Symentec.
     
  16. Barbarian

    Barbarian TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Hi again,
    In the last 3-4 days my pc started crashing and freezing again after a 2 month without any problems.I haven't changed any hardware or software in that time.Here are the minidumps.10x in advance for the help.
     
  17. paulla

    paulla TS Rookie Posts: 42

    Try swapping Norton for some freeware alternatives just to see what happens Antivir, AVG, etc. If this fixes it then you know where your problems are coming from. Make sure you remove it properly as bits of Norton left over can cause massive problems.
     
  18. Barbarian

    Barbarian TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Well I did that a month ago and I used the rmoval tool from Symantec website.But back then everything was ok.After I removed it I used AVG free for a while and now I'm with BitDefender 9 Pro.But as I said I did that a month ago and didn't have any problems and in the last 4 days it started again.
     
  19. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 2,044

    Hi,

    I find Norton AV is installed at your windows.

    f409a000 f40bc000 SYMEVENT SYMEVENT.SYS Tue Jan 17 04:53:50 2006 (43CC07DE)

    You had better re-install windows.
     
  20. paulla

    paulla TS Rookie Posts: 42

    Re-install Windows from scratch after a format, making sure that you burn any Norton disks you have (not that I dislike Norton!) to prevent you having the urge to put them on your PC.
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.