Read only files that were not set to 'read only'

By NCISabbyfan
Jun 22, 2011
Post New Reply
  1. I am very puzzled.

    This morning, some of my documents wouldn't allow me to edit them, as they said they were 'Read only'.

    I don't understand why this happened, as I didn't change any settings to 'Read only'.

    Not only this, even after I copied what ended up being 'Read only' files to blank documents then over-writing the original documents with the same documents, I got a new prompt of an earlier message asking me to merge edits with the original version of documents, as even with the new saves, they were reverted to 'Read only'.

    I clicked on "Merge" and my document appeared to be intact, but was there a virus in my computer causing this? or a technical glitch?

    This has never happened before, and I've rechecked the same documents a few times periodically today, which have since remained editable.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...