Removing CPU means no beep?

Status
Not open for further replies.
not responding (New problem)

First of.. Hi everyone!

I bought a new system this week, put it together and got the same repeating beep that 50% of todays buyers get!
yes I know! something is not connected properly or your Memory is not working...

I contacted Abit and they told me both CPU and RAM is supported for the motherboard... I contacted the sales company and they told me to buy a new memory to test if it works.. since I dont want to spend another 40 pounds (Im a student) I'm posting here for a final help before I go crazy.

So, No screen, repeating beep!
Ive tried installing the memory to all 4 different memory slots. Ive tried removing the graphics card and Ive done the CMOS as perfect as can be done.
The beep still remains.
The only way I can get rid of the beep is if the CPU is removed.... is this normal or does it mean that the CPU is faulty??

Ive built at least 20 PCs before and never had a problem with damn beeps... is this a new thing on the market for the companies to make extra money or what??

appreciating any help I can get.

Here are my specs:

Abit NF-M2 nView nF430 Socket AM2 PCI-E 16x / DUAL CH DDR2 / 7.1CH AUDIO / SATA(II) RAID / Gb LAN / mATX MOTHERBOARD

AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Retail AM2 2.0GHz, 1000MHz FSB, 512KB, 64 Bit Socket AM2

1GB PC5300 Elixir DDR2 SDRAM 240pin DDR2-667 64M8

Inno3D GeForce 7300GT 256MB PCI-E SLi TV 2xDVI Mfr# I-7300GT-G4F3

LiteOn LH-18A1P-483C 18x DVD-RW Beige

Arianet MIDI Tower3 Blk/Sil ATX2.0 AUDIO / 450w PSU

Hello! to answer your last question. NO. as far as I know any MOBO that you try to turn on without CPU won't beep or do anything except to power up fans (if any connected). Now for the beeps, maybe is a code that is letting you know which component is bad. I'm like 90% that the problem is your RAM, the only way to tell is to test it in another system, if is not your RAM then you maybe got a Bad MOBO. There goes my options. Good Luck