Replacing a loud fan on a Gateway notebook

beauty

Hi - I have a Gateway EC18 with a very loud fan and wouldn't you know it, the warranty just expired.

So I went to the gateway support site and typed in the serial number and looked at the vendors for parts but no fan is listed.

Where should I look for a replacement fan?

Thanks!

I have a cooling stand on this machine. The case never feels very hot, the fan is just loud. It didn't used to be that way so I think the problem is with the fan.

I will keep that site in mind, but they don't have prices listed. I will try calling Gateway tomorrow, too.

I will try to research some more about taking apart this laptop before I do it. I have never tried to before and really, this isn't my machine it is an elderly friend's machine. If I screw it up, I can afford to buy her a new one so I may try it.

I have a cooling stand on this machine. The case never feels very hot, the fan is just loud. It didn't used to be that way so I think the problem is with the fan.

I will keep that site in mind, but they don't have prices listed. I will try calling Gateway tomorrow, too.

I will try to research some more about taking apart this laptop before I do it. I have never tried to before and really, this isn't my machine it is an elderly friend's machine. If I screw it up, I can afford to buy her a new one so I may try it.
The site Raz has provided does have a toll free (877?) number for questions about pricing, (one supposes). Although, from the wording, I think they want to do it for you, rather than sell you the parts.

In this case, you'd likely be better off dealing with Gateway, if they'll sell you just the parts.

I'd suggest you pop the back off and have a look see at the fan. If it isn't a non standard item, you might get away with a generic replacement.